Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2011, 05:07 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Share |
Default

Got old floor up - OK experts....what next - pic inside


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephora
Ok talked to BIL. He said that we need to take up the plywood and get down to real subfloor. He is going to come over with a saw and crobars tomorrow. Then he said I can lay the ditra. He said we will figure out the size tomorrow.

I guess I was getting confused on what subfloor actually meant.
Hey, subfloor is either concrete or wood, depends on what your house was build on. Ditra is a great product!

Nika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 05:09 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Got old floor up - OK experts....what next - pic inside


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nika

Hey, subfloor is either concrete or wood, depends on what your house was build on. Ditra is a great product!
If you need some answers maybe I can help, I use to work for flooring company. So ask!
Nika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 05:13 PM   #18
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9,903
Default

Got old floor up - OK experts....what next - pic inside


Quote:
Ok talked to BIL. He said that we need to take up the plywood and get down to real subfloor.
Well if your BIL says so then it must be so. H-m-m-m Imagine that!!

Quote:
Nika: "Hey, subfloor is either concrete or wood, depends on what your house was build on. Ditra is a great product!If you need some answers maybe I can help, I use to work for flooring company. So ask!"
But did you stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night? That would be the determining factor as to whether or not you know anything.
Bud Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 05:23 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Got old floor up - OK experts....what next - pic inside


Lol, no I stay at my house last night. But I think I saw you down the street getting arrested
Nika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 05:30 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Got old floor up - OK experts....what next - pic inside


I'm new here so give me a break.
Nika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 06:20 PM   #21
Member
 
Sephora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 202
Default

Got old floor up - OK experts....what next - pic inside


Bud, I never said I doubted you at all. And I did mention I wasn't sure what "subfloor" really meant. I thought there was the layer of wood that is supposed to be the first layer of anyfloor....and I thought a subfloor went over that. I didn't realize that the subfloor is the first set of wood.

Ok so since he said he was going to come over tomorrow to help us get this other plywood up since I don't have a circular saw I feel better.

He did say that once we got that up and got down to real subfloor I can go ahead and apply the modified thinset and then lay the Ditra. He said Ditra comes in a few thicknesses and we would see what we needed tomorrow once wood was up.

He is totally all about being flush with the hardwood in the other rooms. I would have been fine with a little height but you all are right and I should do the right thing.
Sephora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 06:31 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Got old floor up - OK experts....what next - pic inside


Hmm do you know what you subfloor is? If it is concrete slab or wood? If you have concrete than I'm not sure why do you have plywood on top, and when it comes to ditra! There are few thickness but when it comes to thinset be careful. Cause far as I remember right you can't use modify thinset with ditra. They have unmodify for that specific product.
Nika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 06:34 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Got old floor up - OK experts....what next - pic inside


And just you know, you don't really need the thick ditra cause even the thinner one is very good.
Nika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 07:05 PM   #24
Member
 
Sephora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 202
Default

Got old floor up - OK experts....what next - pic inside


Nika,

Our subfloor is wood. We have Colonial type home and we have a full basement. This is for our main level - and it is the kitchen - no concrete under any of the main level or second floor.

The reason why I mentioned my BIL said we'd see on Ditra thikness as we want to match the same height as the hardwood in the rest of the house.

I am pretty sure you have to use a modified thinset and then lay Ditra on top. Then use an unmodified thinset to lay the tile with. If I am wrong Bud will let me know
Sephora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 07:14 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Got old floor up - OK experts....what next - pic inside


Oh I see! Well let me know how it goes!
Nika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 10:48 AM   #26
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9,903
Default

Got old floor up - OK experts....what next - pic inside


Nika thanks for your comments my friend...I'm afraid however you are out of your league here on this topic. I would suggest you sit back and be quiet and try to learn if you are going to participate here. Please don't confuse this thread any more than you have already. Things are under control here and moving forward. Your inaccurate comments will only serve to further alarm this already timid OP. Thanks for understanding.
Bud Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 12:24 PM   #27
Member
 
Sephora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 202
Default

Got old floor up - OK experts....what next - pic inside


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud Cline View Post
Nika thanks for your comments my friend...I'm afraid however you are out of your league here on this topic. I would suggest you sit back and be quiet and try to learn if you are going to participate here. Please don't confuse this thread any more than you have already. Things are under control here and moving forward. Your inaccurate comments will only serve to further alarm this already timid OP. Thanks for understanding.
Ohh Bud! LOL Hey, my BIL is on his way over. I can't wait to get the gross piece of plywood up and then be able to get the Ditra this week to lay down....plan is to tile on Sat. I need to pick grout color though. We picked up all the tile today.
Sephora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 12:29 PM   #28
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9,903
Default

Got old floor up - OK experts....what next - pic inside


CORRECTING SOME ABOVE MIS-INFORMATION:

DITRA in fact comes in two sizes, 1/8" thickness and 5/16" thickness. Not a "few" just two.

DITRA's installation technique as far as which thinset to use is actually based on what other components are involved. Sometimes modified thinset is used and sometime unmodified thinset is used. You most certainly use modified thinset with DITRA in some applications.
Bud Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 08:27 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 1,986
Default

Got old floor up - OK experts....what next - pic inside


If, and that's a big if, it seems as if the old ply is coming up. Then the BIL is going to install Ditra with some thinset.
Don't we still have to get the plywood down to stiffen the floor? Forget having the floors match on a horizontal plane; does you no good if the tile floor is cracking at every grout joint due to floor flexing.
bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 08:39 AM   #30
Member
 
Sephora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 202
Default

Got old floor up - OK experts....what next - pic inside


Ok....here is what we have....a hot mess that is!!

BIL came over...there was at least a 1/2 inch of whatever over the subfloor. He talked us into taking it up. We got the big portion of the kitchen done but I have to pick up a toe-kick saw after work to be able to go around the cabinets...

The originaly subfloor is thinner than I would like but BIL hasn't said yet what they next plan of action is.

He wants to get everything up so that we can see with fresh eyes.

The subfloor was flexing a bit but we also took out a lot of nails along with the crap we had to take up.

I am going to urge BIL to lay a 1/4 inch good grade ply wood on top of the original subfloor.
Attached Thumbnails
Got old floor up - OK experts....what next - pic inside-new-image.jpg  

Sephora is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much conductor inside J-box? deko Electrical 9 09-08-2010 10:26 PM
AC tripping breaker inside the unit lauratodd HVAC 1 09-01-2010 05:30 PM
Basement moisture - why not seal inside wall? BRO931 Building & Construction 10 08-30-2010 01:47 PM
sealing INSIDE an exterior wall penatration measure thrice Electrical 1 01-24-2009 02:12 PM
Minimum Clearance to Vent Inside Wall? MikeinBurien Plumbing 12 12-05-2005 11:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.