Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-22-2008, 09:32 PM   #1

Share |
Unhappy

Going through doorways with laminate

Hi

Ok...this is my first time installing laminate flooring. I'm doing it my own home (thank goodness) and I've run into a problem.

I'm running the flooring (Surface Source from Lowe's) perpendicular to the doorway into a bedroom from the hallway. How the heck do you continue the flow through the doorway and throughout the room without t molding? If I continue to run the planks through the doorway, the way they're facing, I won't be able to "click and lock" the other planks together because they'd be facing the wrong way. Any advice?

Thanks in advance!

compounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 10:19 PM   #2
x/builder

Best results
Undercut the door jambs. For a professional looking finish, the laminate planks have to slide under the door trim. Draw a horizontal pencil line the thickness of the laminate and the underlayment and use a coping saw to undercut it.

works when need be
Or make a near perfect paper or light cardboard template of the door jam at the floor so that you can use a fine coping saw to cut the boards to fit near perfectly. Once your throught you can usually find a color mathing caulking that can be appied to super finish the edge.

fj

leave room for seaasonal expansion and contraction. 1/8 inch from any wall.

fj

There will be times when it's absolutely impossible to both snap the laminate flooring planks together and get the laminate under the door jamb.
When this happens, use a sharp utility knife to shave off the locking part of the laminate edges while leaving the flat part of the connector intact. This will allow sliding the two planks together to mate. Be sure to add a small bead of wood glue to ensure that the planks will remained mated. Titebond woodworking glue is the best choice.