Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-29-2013, 01:26 PM   #1

Share |

Flooring questions

Hey everyone. I have a few questions about my kitchen floor I'm replacing. I work at commercial cabinet shop and do commercial maintenance so I'm no expert at flooring.

First off, my house was built in 1947 and is a fixer upper. I've been doing all the repairs myself so far. The kitchen floor was 6 layers of linoleum/sheet vinyl and VCT. I pulled up the first 5 layers. The bottom layer of VCT(?) had some black paper/felt backing on it and seemed pretty well glued so I left it. I'm going back with Hardie board then wood grain porcelain. Now to my questions.

How concerned should I be about asbestos? It didn't cross my mind until I was almost done scraping everything up. I was wearing a medical face mask, for airborn diseases, not a respirator. It was my wife's mask.

A guy I work with does flooring on the side and said just to Hardie over the bottom layer of tile. Under that is a layer of plywood or hardwood floor (not sure which) then the board run on a diagonal. He also said not to put the mortar/thinset under the Hardie. I thought that was a bad idea. I screwed every other spot and used roofing nails on the other spots. Any problems with any of that?

The other thing that worried me it's the mortar I put under the Hardie. The person at Lowe's told me what one to get. This is the person that teaches the flooring how-to there. They also said that is the bag the rep recommends. After putting all the Hardie board down I noticed on the bag it says it's not for plywood subfloor or cement board until a additive is used. No one told me that part. They actually told me to put the stuff back that I chose and use this stuff instead. Am I screwed there?

Sorry for the long post and thanks in advance for any help.

DavidKulzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 05:46 PM   #2