Floor Prep - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2013, 07:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Floor prep


HI! I just bout house and we wanted to put porcelan wood grain. The house has laminte floating floor in it now. I pull a few planks up of the existing floor and come to find the house use to have a glue down hardwood in it! Can i still use the procelan tile and how i prep floor with glue on it? I can't get up!!!!!

Advertisement

ngraham1300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 08:54 PM   #2
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 4,186
Rewards Points: 2,230
Default

Floor prep


Hi 1300,

No reason why you can't have tiles on that floor. First step; remove the hardwood. Tell us if you have a suspended wooden subfloor or if you're on a slab. If it's a wooden floor, tell us what you have as the subfloor and how the subfloor system is built starting with the joists' type and size, their spacing, and the unsupported span.

Quote:
I can't get up!!!!!
Sure you can, but you have to try a little harder.

Jaz

Advertisement

__________________
Tile 4 You LLC Troy, MI

DITRA Installs - KERDI Watertight-Mold-Free Showers. I have NEVER made a mistake, I thought I did ONCE, but, I was WRONG! A+ BBB rating - est. 1987 - over 50 yrs. exp.
JazMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 09:48 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Floor prep


The house had originally a glue down hardwood floor. The previous owner pulled the glue down hardwood and replace it with a floating floor. I can pull the floating floor up with no problem. the problem is that old glue from previous floor is still on the concrete slab. I am not sure how to prep the slab with hard wood glue on it. Is there way to put lay over ther old glue or do i have remove the old hardwood glue from the slab? also how do i get the old glue off the floor?

Last edited by ngraham1300; 01-13-2013 at 09:50 PM.
ngraham1300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 10:01 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Floor prep


People keep saying on a subfloor but i dont have a plywood subfloor i have concrete slab!!!!
ngraham1300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 10:59 PM   #5
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 4,186
Rewards Points: 2,230
Default

Floor prep


Ok got it now. Which people asked about a subfloor? I must have missed your description of the subfloor in your first post then?

You're going to want to remove the old adhesive down to clean concrete. Not a fun job, and could be messy. Trying to use a modified thinset might work, but you're on your own.

Jaz
__________________
Tile 4 You LLC Troy, MI

DITRA Installs - KERDI Watertight-Mold-Free Showers. I have NEVER made a mistake, I thought I did ONCE, but, I was WRONG! A+ BBB rating - est. 1987 - over 50 yrs. exp.
JazMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 11:47 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Floor prep


Is there a solvent that can be used to help?
ngraham1300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 07:14 AM   #7
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 4,012
Rewards Points: 2,294
Default

Floor prep


Don't use a solvent. It may keep the thinset from working.
__________________
The ads in my post are there without my permission. I do not endorse any of the products.
Semi-Retired Installer
Installing since 1973
rusty baker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 10:46 AM   #8
Stuck in the 70's
 
Blondesense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: south central Missouri
Posts: 2,162
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Floor prep


Do you have much tiling experience?

When you mention wanting "porcelain wood grain" I'm picturing the long 24" or so tile that look like wood grain. If so, these can be a challenge even for someone who has done some tiling. Your floor will have to be perfectly flat (a slab ain't necessarily so).

You might want to research a tile leveling system that can give you a more professional job. There are several out there. Lash an Tuscan are two that come to mind. I believe there are others.
Blondesense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 11:13 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Floor prep


Im was planning on getting a professional to instal it. I am just trying to save some money by getting the glue off the slab. I realize that it may need to be floated or such. I have tried scrapping the glue, heat, and so its just not coming up. I asked the a guy that in stalls for lowes and he told me to prime and float the whole floor! i was thinking of laying durarock down and cover it, but its going to be very costly!
ngraham1300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 01:48 PM   #10
Member
 
Dave Sal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 299
Rewards Points: 266
Default

Floor prep


Dave Sal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 02:45 PM   #11
"You can do anything"-Mom
 
brockmiera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 724
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Floor prep


I bought a long handled 8" razor scraper from HD for my basement floors. It is amazing. Make sure you grab an extra blade per 20 sq ft of concrete.

Advertisement

brockmiera is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts