Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-25-2010, 10:59 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 34
Share |
Default

Floor is out 3/4"


Hey guys. I am helping out a friend renovate his kitchen and we have a big problem with his floor... There is a hump in the middle of the floor throughout the entire room and is 3/4" high. We pulled the subfloor and it is the joists that are up. If we were to laminate the other joists with 2x10's to make the room true, the floor would be 3/4" higher then the new hardwood floors in the living room and hallway. he would like to have the floors be as level as possible with one another to have a smooth transition. Is there a way around this? Thanks

zetti1102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 11:16 AM   #2
STAFF
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 7,074
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Floor is out 3/4"


Quote:
Originally Posted by zetti1102 View Post
Hey guys. I am helping out a friend renovate his kitchen and we have a big problem with his floor... There is a hump in the middle of the floor throughout the entire room and is 3/4" high. We pulled the subfloor and it is the joists that are up. If we were to laminate the other joists with 2x10's to make the room true, the floor would be 3/4" higher then the new hardwood floors in the living room and hallway. he would like to have the floors be as level as possible with one another to have a smooth transition. Is there a way around this? Thanks
Can you see what is causing the joist to be up 3/4 inch? Is there a girder under that point?

__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

Jim
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 11:35 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 34
Default

Floor is out 3/4"


Everything looks to be fine from what i can see. Seems to be 3 joists that are up. I had an idea of planning down the joists so it makes them all even. they are 3x8's so i figure taking off a max of 3/4" wouldn't affect the structure.
zetti1102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 12:27 PM   #4
STAFF
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 7,074
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Floor is out 3/4"


Quote:
Originally Posted by zetti1102 View Post
Everything looks to be fine from what i can see. Seems to be 3 joists that are up. I had an idea of planning down the joists so it makes them all even. they are 3x8's so i figure taking off a max of 3/4" wouldn't affect the structure.
3X8s!!? are you sure they aren't 2X8s? Even if they are I sure would plane them down before I would raise the rest of the floor. I would even consider putting a drop girder under them and cutting a curf to let them down before raising the rest of the floor.
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

Jim
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 12:56 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 34
Default

Floor is out 3/4"


1,000% POSITIVE they are 3x8's. House was built 1951, guess that's what they used around that time in N.Y.C.
zetti1102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 02:27 PM   #6
STAFF
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 7,074
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Floor is out 3/4"


Wow, that is some heavy duty joist. All the better at least you have a very sturdy floor.
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

Jim
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 12:02 AM   #7
Member
 
jlhaslip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canadian Rockies
Posts: 1,280
Default

Floor is out 3/4"


planing them would be a good option, in my opinion.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud Cline View Post
Go ahead and apply for a variance, those guys at City Hall can use a good laugh.
jlhaslip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 08:56 AM   #8
Member
 
steveel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 287
Default

Floor is out 3/4"


Are there any wires, pipes, etc passing thru holes in those joists that right now are minimum allowed distance from top of joist, and if so will your inspector care if you plane off 3/4" of that distance? (And even if inspector won't care, if you have anything that close to top of joist beware of puncturing them when you nail flooring. May need to add those nailing-protection plates)
steveel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 08:57 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 34
Default

Floor is out 3/4"


Yeah i guess planning them would be the best option... 3 - 3x8 joists at 20' long is gonna take awhile lol
zetti1102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 09:20 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 34
Default

Floor is out 3/4"


Steve, There are no pipes, wiring or anything through the joists. There is no inspector on this job.... He didn't want to get any permits or anything so that's all on him, I'm just helping him out. We are not changing any plumbing or electrical work, Just the structure will be changed because we will plane them down. On a 3x8 joist, could1/2 -3/4 of an inch really affect it that much?
zetti1102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 09:28 AM   #11
Member
 
steveel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 287
Default

Floor is out 3/4"


beats me. The other posters don't think so. I just wanted to call attention to the pipes/wire issue in case you hadn't thought of it.

If its something you can do engineering wise, could you speed things up with a circ saw and some kind of homemade cutting guide? Watch for broken off flooring nails when you start up the planer.

have fun
steveel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 09:31 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 34
Default

Floor is out 3/4"


We pulled all the nails out clean. I think i would just use a power planer, have a good dewalt one. little safer then using a circ saw on the side of a joist i think.
Thanks

zetti1102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3/4" hardwood over 3/4" T&G subfloor benjamincall Flooring 16 03-18-2010 10:46 PM
Cutting base around 3/4" corner bead Alan Carpentry 2 02-27-2010 02:32 PM
3/4" hardwood over "Sturd-i" OSB joemontana16 Flooring 1 02-20-2010 12:59 PM
3/4" T&G plywood over 1/2" subfloor Stude Building & Construction 14 12-26-2009 02:38 AM
3/4" Partical board underlayment OK for new 3/4" oak? housefixin Flooring 4 02-23-2008 04:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.