Floor Around Toilet - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-20-2012, 04:37 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

Floor around toilet

Hey guys,

I am pretty new at this stuff and have limited tools/budget but expect the best look I can get. None of these tiles are laid yet, I decided to cut what I could now and then lay them all after making any necessary changes as I go. The first two are of my toilet flange (obvious). Is this tight enough around the flange? And would you be concerned about the one little piece I put on the right side of the flange breaking if someone sat on the toilet? I did it this way to help not breakup my grout lines and only have a wet tile saw.

The second pick is of my bathroom so far. I will need to cut some tiles to fit everything in. I was going to cut them along the threshold at the door but am worried about the rough cut edge. Would you guys just measure and install cut tiles along bath tub first of is there another method.

Thanks
Attached Images

Advertisement

RegLearning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 05:01 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 10

Floor around toilet

Id look into borrowing a grinder with a $12 diamond wheel. With this tool you'll be able to make circular cuts and eliminate that strip near toilet flange. It would worry me a little. I use my grinder for cutting everything!!

Advertisement

cariboulou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 05:41 PM   #3
Pro

Rewards Points: 502

Floor around toilet

Yeah grinder with diamond blade it's next to impossible to work with that tile with out one. Grind both back and front.
Make shore your flang isn't to low might need to raise it. I could be wrong by looking.
Start from tub work your way out you will end up cut pieces at the last wall make shore the cut sides facing wall.

Sent from my iPhone 4 ios5