Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-08-2013, 07:05 PM   #1

Share |

Engineered Wood, floor and Stairs

I had some quotes for having engineered wood flooring laid down in the living room. We also plan to do two small sets of stairs(it is a split level house).

The main question is can I do this myself? I have laid tile, and done a few things around the house. I'm no expert at DIY but I'm not a novice either. My main concern is the stairs. It seems the main floor isn't too hard. If I give this a go, I'll keep this thread going. Mostly screaming for help!

Hurriken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 08:39 PM   #2

Hi, I hope you don't mind me butting into your thread, but I just logged on to post my own question about engineered flooring and saw your question. My daughter just bought her first house and wants to rip up all the carpeting; hardwood is too expensive for her budget; she's not sure if there's any such thing as a quality laminate that won't scratch (two big dogs in house); and she heard about engineered wood flooring which I had never heard of before. She had researched a little and came up with Mohawk engineered wood with a zinc oxide coating called "Armor Max" that has a 50 year warranty, which of course sounds good if it's true. Do you mind my asking what brand you got quotes on and how durable your contractors felt it would be?

Beth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 09:02 PM   #3

We got quotes on Bellawood but the labor was the number that stopped us cold. Bellawood is sold by Lumber Liquidators. I have a decent sized dog (70lbs) and that was a concern of ours as well. The carpet is a hair magnet though so we want it out! Isn't Mohawk Home Depots brand.

My dog is getting older so I am a little concerned about him slipping on the stairs.

Also, by all means post on my friend. I'm open to any detail that might help.