Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-01-2011, 06:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

engineered hardwood over concrete slab


I have a couple of questions-

I have a concrete slab at grade that used to have asbestos tiles on it. Tiles are gone but black mastic (cutback adhesive remains 5% asbestos). I am thinking about encapsulating it with a product like ARDEX SD-F. I also understand that this will level out the floors if needed. I do have some divots caused be removing nails from old carpet tack strip.

Does ardex cause any bonding issues with urethane glue for the wood floors?

I have also heard of people using bean-a-doo to remove the mastic and cleaning with a degreaser and then gluing hardwood directly to slab.

Has anyone done that before - how easy is bean-a-doo to work with? Looks messy but fairly quick.

BSCHO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 06:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 102
Rewards Points: 0
Default

engineered hardwood over concrete slab


IS the engineered wood snap lock too or not? IF it is snaplock you can run it as floating too. IF you insist on gluing that glue will hold to just about anything. I have never used bean-a-doo so I can't comment on how good it works.

proremodel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 06:55 PM   #3
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 0
Default

engineered hardwood over concrete slab


Without a whole lot of preparation putting wood on a concrete slab is not recommended. You will really need a floating subfloor, with a ton of vapor stop between the floating subfloor and the concrete.

Mark
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 09:56 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 154
Rewards Points: 0
Default

engineered hardwood over concrete slab


Don't the enginered floors have a closed cell foam underlayment? I think that would be the way to go.
KarlJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 10:00 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 102
Rewards Points: 0
Default

engineered hardwood over concrete slab


Quote:
Originally Posted by KarlJay View Post
Don't the enginered floors have a closed cell foam underlayment? I think that would be the way to go.
Some due- I have done a few snap lock engineered floors right onto concrete. I just lay the pad tape the seams and go to town. Have not had a problem yet.
proremodel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Hardwood Flooring on Concrete Flooring, Condo slickwilly789 Flooring 1 10-08-2010 08:53 PM
Hardwood sleeper floor on slab acerunner Flooring 4 08-24-2010 10:47 PM
Help on tool selection for leveling concrete slab Wohn Flooring 3 07-11-2010 02:03 AM
Installing engineered hardwood flooring over concrete deborahs Flooring 3 07-30-2009 09:35 PM
How to cut a hole in a concrete floor slab tomseeley General DIY Discussions 7 06-10-2009 02:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.