Engineered Hardwood Installation; Floating Or Glue? - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2007, 12:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

engineered hardwood installation; Floating or Glue?


OK, I want to install 3"x9/16" engineered hardwood over new concrete slab. This particular supplier recomends the floating system using a foam underlayment. Wood glue is used only between the tongue and grooves. Assuming my slab is dry and level, do any of you experts see a problem with this method? I ask because some manufacturers say "float", others say "glue". Is it just a personal choice? Thanks for your insight! El Buey

Advertisement

El Buey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 12:30 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

engineered hardwood installation; Floating or Glue?


I think float is the way to go... have it done that way for my previous condo... and it works well...

Advertisement

KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 12:48 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

engineered hardwood installation; Floating or Glue?


How I love a positive response. Did your installation go smoothly? Are you a professional? I'm not.
El Buey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 03:32 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

engineered hardwood installation; Floating or Glue?


at the time it was done... I hire contractor ... if I have to do it again now... I would do it myself... the trick is really appling the glue to the tonque and groove I would think... as you want just righat amount ... too much it spill and make the surface looks ugly... too little it doesn't bond well... but with some practice,... I am sure it can be handled... I did my basement with laminate and find it so...o...oo..... easy... but that doesn't require and glue at all...
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 03:53 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

engineered hardwood installation; Floating or Glue?


Thanks, I'm still feeling positive. By the way, for anyone reading this, there is a ton of information on this subject (including installation instructions) at www.hardwoodinstaller.com/hardwoodinstaller/floater.htm. El Buey
El Buey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Glue and staple hardwood? jdoherty Flooring 2 06-06-2007 10:38 PM
subfloor question for hardwood installation metrokarl Flooring 2 05-16-2007 09:37 AM
Question on installing floating hardwood floor loragail Flooring 7 10-23-2006 10:06 AM
engineered hardwood wildeman Flooring 2 10-14-2006 01:24 AM
Flooring hardwood v engineered or laminate skits Flooring 1 07-12-2006 10:03 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts