Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-23-2009, 06:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Duraceramic Grout


I had a contractor install my Duraceramic after I threw my back out. I am not happy with how it is grouted, I think they got in a hurry to get it done. I would call him on the carpet about it but am afraid the job would be just as bad.
My question is----Can you regrout over the existing grout or is it necessary/wiser to remove the grout do regrout properly?

Jimmyg63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 08:09 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 334
Default

Duraceramic Grout


Isn't that the fake tile with the cheesewiz type grout bottle, if so, I have no idea, sorry.

R&D Tile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 08:16 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Duraceramic Grout


For a tile contractor you have the tact of a fire hydrant.

No, this is not the "fake tile with the cheesewiz type grout bottle".
Jimmyg63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 09:38 PM   #4
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9,940
Default

Duraceramic Grout


Quote:
Can you regrout over the existing grout or is it necessary/wiser to remove the grout do regrout properly?
Depends on exactly what the problem is...

Duraceramic is fake ceramic tile but the grout comes premixed in a tub.

R&D, stay away from any dogs until we can get to the bottom of this.
__________________
XXX
Bud Cline is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 07:33 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Duraceramic Grout


Looks like when it was grouted not all of the air "pockets" were squeezed out, left a few holes in the grout. I have contacted the contractor and he will fix, however I want to know what the correct fix would be.
Jimmyg63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 07:41 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 133
Default

Duraceramic Grout


We regrouted our joints where a few air bubbles developed within the first couple days of the floor being installed. We did this nearly 4 months ago. Easy to do and the additional grout attached itself firmly to the first layer with no problem.
MI-Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 05:37 PM   #7
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9,940
Default

Duraceramic Grout


Jimmy that's a simple fix, the holes can be addressed individually without any issues.

__________________
XXX
Bud Cline is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I need to grout fireplace tiles? xiard Remodeling 4 04-17-2009 07:19 AM
Cracking floor grout - Ceramic tile DeepDish Building & Construction 9 08-27-2008 09:51 PM
sanding grout C99 Flooring 4 02-18-2008 05:10 PM
Tinting/re-coloring grout proofer Flooring 7 02-02-2008 10:59 PM
Cracking floor grout - Ceramic tile DeepDish Flooring 9 03-03-2007 07:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.