Dricore Question - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2014, 01:57 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Homer Glen, Il
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Dricore question


Guys, I'm planning on laying down dricore panels in my basement, I have a few questions. I have two steel support columns that I plan on boxing out with stone vener lowers and trim molding for the uppers, do I frame these columns in first and anchor them to the concrete floor and then cut the dricore to fit around or do I install all the dricore first and then frame these in and have them sit atop the dricore?

I will also be doing the same stone veners on the end of a bar which will require me to make a pony wall, again I have the same question will it be better to anchor the 2x6 I plan on using for a bottom plate to the concrete with tapcons, frame the pony wall, and then cut the dricore to fit around or place the wall atop the dricore?

I am thinking the wall and the base would be much more stable and move less is attached to the concrete. Attached is a pic of my basement project with the two columns I speak of. Thanks in advance for any help
Mike
Attached Thumbnails
Dricore question-image.jpg  

Advertisement

Mlorek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 02:09 PM   #2
bbo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Packerland !!
Posts: 1,016
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Dricore question


I'd frame the items to the floor. and "float" the dricore around it.

it would be much more of a pain to affix to the dricore since you would need to secure the dricore the floor if you affixed the wall and column cladding to the dricore.

Advertisement

bbo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bbo For This Useful Post:
Mlorek (02-21-2014)
Old 03-15-2014, 04:38 AM   #3
Newbie
 
James-Colls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dricore question


It would be much more of a discomfort to adhere to the dricore since you would need to protected the dricore the ground if you fitted the walls and line cladding to the dricore.
James-Colls is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To dricore or not to dricore..that is the question Gloria02 Flooring 15 09-29-2013 08:17 PM
Another Aluminum Siding prep question aribert Painting 6 03-14-2013 02:48 PM
Plumbing for new shower kit question noviceshock Plumbing 6 03-02-2013 09:11 PM
Putting rigid foam on concrete walls...how to lay DriCore in this setup? ChaoticBliss Building & Construction 14 09-12-2012 06:02 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts