Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-13-2008, 06:49 PM   #16
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 3,959
Share |
Default

To Ditra or not?


OK, good move obviously. Use 3/4" subfloor exposure one or similar. Depending on the brand, you should check with their specific guidelines for installation. I imagine you'll be installing 2 layers? The second being an underlayment. Make this sheet at least 3/8" but thicker is better, so go ad thick as possible. Then Ditra over that.

Jaz

__________________
Tile 4 You LLC Troy, MI

DITRA Installs - KERDI Watertight-Mold-Free Showers. I have NEVER made a mistake, I thought I did ONCE, but, I was WRONG! A+ BBB rating - est. 1987 - over 50 yrs. exp.
JazMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 05:14 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 39
Default

To Ditra or not?


Thanks again for the great information. I read the article "Position of underlayment to prevent cracked tile and grout" so I will use two layers of 3/4" plywood. Taking up the floor is hard. It has the old square nails. I have already destroyed two carbide saw blades but the battle goes on.
JamesEric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 05:41 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 39
Default

To Ditra or not?


I have completed the installation of the subfloor and underlayment. It is like night and day. I used Avantech subflooring and 5/8" plywood underlayment. Now my floor has a very solid feel. I have total confidence in this substrate. My only concern is a 1/4" low spot in the center of the floor. Should I patch it before the Ditra or just use the thinset when I lay the tiles?
JamesEric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 03:15 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Western New York
Posts: 70
Default

To Ditra or not?


I do believe a layer of thin set should be put down then the ditra, can you level the area with thin set before you lay down the ditra?
mgarfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 08:01 AM   #20
Tile Contractor
 
Bill_Vincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bridgton, Maine
Posts: 108
Default

To Ditra or not?


Either before or after, but if you do it before, I'd do it with a thinset that's highly modified-- something like Laticrete's 317 mixed with their 333 additive, or Mapei's kerabond mixed with thier Keralastic-- something that's going to grab that wood and not let go.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or you think you can't, You're probably right."
http://www.creativeceramicandmarble.com
Bill_Vincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 10:42 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 39
Default

To Ditra or not?


Thanks. I did it after as I set the stone.

JamesEric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ditra under Laminate Floor? HECO Flooring 3 04-30-2012 08:00 AM
Installing Ceramic tile: Ditra over Vinyl or rip out and use 5/8 Plywood? ppieda Flooring 2 10-05-2007 11:01 AM
have osb subfloors that squeak on 3 story duplex runbikeengr Flooring 12 04-19-2007 01:33 AM
Tile a shower base? always something Flooring 6 03-19-2007 09:58 AM
Ceramic Tiling on a Slab nsb318 Flooring 3 03-01-2007 02:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.