Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-27-2009, 06:27 PM   #1
Do it YourSelf Miss Vicki

Send a message via Yahoo to VickMachine
Share |

Desperate need for advice

Salutations I am new to your thread...
My current project,,, Re-tile Kitchen / Dining floor (Home built 1962) Currently applied in kitchen area 1st layer appears to be soft partical wood board (There is a small Squ. step of plywood material in front of door entrance due to previous water damage issue) 2nd layer is very old linoleum (Sheeted material with black paper backing). The third layer cracked ceramic tile. The dining area is carpet. (Not sure whats underneath... I assume it also linoleum?)
My initial thought is to contract in help and replace entire subfloor area of both kitchen and dining area. Though I perceive this would very costly due to having to cut and remove all layers of old flooring... Would it be sucessfull and less costly to simply lie cement backerboard over the top of the entire area? I would assume I would also need to layer in some type of material in the uneven areas in the door way. I have attached a picture for best advice.

Slammin my head on this one

Thank you in advance
Attached Thumbnails
Desperate need for advice-floor.jpg  

VickMachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 08:53 PM   #2

Myself I like starting from a clean slate
I took 12 layers of wood/flooring off my last kitchen in the old house
Then put down new 3/4" plywood
You will be building up quite a few layers of flooring
What is under the house - basement/crawlspace?

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 10:57 PM   #3

It is a 4 ft crawl space. The biggest issue of course?! The wood... does extend under the cabinets.. so it would have to be cut flush with cabinets and then replaced?

Thank you for responding along with any ideas
Old 08-27-2009, 11:50 PM   #4