Crumbling Grout - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-24-2009, 11:02 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Crumbling Grout

Last year, my husband and I hired a guy to replace our vinyl kitchen floor with porcelain tile. He was recommended by friends who were very happy with the installation of their marble bathroom floor. We chose 12 x 12 tile, and I wanted the thinnest grout lines possible for that tile. I'm a closet interior designer, and I spend a lot of time watching HGTV, DIY shows, and reading books and magazines about design projects. Everything I read say you should use non-sanded grout for thin lines. The grout manufacturer and store sales rep said the same thing. But the installer insisted that sanded grout was the way to go, based on his experience. I reluctantly gave in, and just days after the floor was finished and sealed, the tile began to crumble in a few places. The guy came over a couple of times, and when I complained about the broken grout, he told me how I could fix it. His macho tendencies, resulting from his culture, make it difficult for him to take me seriously. And I am trying to control not going off on him. I've asked my husband (who has the same cultural background) to address this issue with him so that he can fix the floor, but he still hasn't done anything. I'm losing patience as my floor is falling apart. This guy is supposedly licensed and works for a professional contractor. Ours was a moonlighting job completely independent of the contractor. What's the best way to deal with this and to fix our floor?

Advertisement

Last edited by Bliss7777; 10-24-2009 at 11:05 AM.
Bliss7777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 12:22 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 250

Crumbling Grout

Lawyer, small claims court?

Advertisement

R&D Tile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 04:56 PM   #3