Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-2009, 09:14 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

crucial error


i'm glad this forum is more or less anonymous.
My tile floor turn out pretty well. Installed radiant heat underneath..yea! We are at the end of the project and i go to install the thermostat; with all of the other crap that was happening at the same the tile was being set... we managed to NOT install the thermostat wire with the rest of the wiring. OOPS. So now a guy needs (me) needs to fish the thermo wire down the wall and into the floor. Here is the question. What is the best/safest method for removing this one 12x12 ceramic tile that is set on concrete with radiant wire underneath? I'm thinking that scaping the grout and trying to pry the tile up in pieces? My wife says "it will be OK." I feel this screw-up is wrought with disaster. help. The good news is this tile is atleast in a very conspicous spot.
hayduke.klr07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 09:51 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: north east
Posts: 728
Default

crucial error


First off, if your wife says its okay, Your Golden! but yes it would seem that you could break up that tile and go from there. I'd try a chisel and hammer, knowing wire is under neath, go easy. As for how it happened, someone on here has in his signature about if we haven't made a mistake we aren't living, good luck and congrats on your new floor.
__________________
LIVING THE DREAM
DUDE! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 11:52 AM   #3
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9,124
Default

crucial error


hayduke,
YOU ARE ASKING FOR TROUBLE.

How about you gently remove the grout in a grout line and install the probe in that channel then regrout.?

The probe doesn't have to be under a tile, it only needs to be somewhere in the thermal mass.
Bud Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brand new PAYNE PG9MAB won't start . Error code 12 tp618 HVAC 3 12-19-2008 09:21 PM
trane furnace with inducer blower error tjh57 HVAC 1 10-22-2006 07:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.