Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-11-2011, 06:36 AM   #1

Share |

covering for floor?

Ya i posted here before, but Idk what happened to the thread. But basically, have a floor that is missing the top layer, so theres just these planks I guess that are like 5-6 inches wide and a couple of feet long, and they go across. The floor is currently 1/4" below the neighboring floors.

I was wondering what is the best way to cover this floor, because i don't want to walk around it the way it is now. What would be the options, I'm assuming carpeting is an option, and maybe 1/4" plywood if they got anything like that. Anything else?

I'm not really experienced about this stuff, sorry about that.
supremeone77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 07:20 AM   #2
DIY staff

covering for floor?

The easiest and cheapest will be to ---add some screws to what's there to get rid of the squeaks

Top it with 1/4 inch ply--Luan is O.K. under carpet,and it's very cheap-(use small crown staples)

then add carpet.

If the budget is a little bigger--look at a laminate floor---no 1/4 inch ply needed--Just screw the squeaks---roll out the pad and install---more work--more money--a little nicer

Carpet sounds like a good choice to me----Mike---
Old 03-11-2011, 08:37 AM   #3

covering for floor?

thanks for responding. Why would laminate floor be more work? Do you have to screw it all in?? Well the 1/4" plywood seems good.. How do you attach it though? Crown staples? And do you need a special staple gun to do that? I have a regular staple gun, where you hit what you want to staple and a small staple comes out. It attaches to wood, but Im not sure if it takes bigger staples than the ones I've used. And where do you staple, at any location?