Concrete Garage Floor. - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-26-2012, 08:16 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Concrete garage floor.

Hi guys.

I am new to the DIY world but I have to say that with every project I fall in love more and more. I am a first time home owner and slowly doing one part of the house at a time. My current project is redoing the garage so not only I can take pride in my work but so I can free up the walk in closet upstairs that is currently filled with paint cans and tools (maybe a future pantry).

I have already painted the garage a light blueish grey and put slatwall on one of the walls. (found someone on craigslist selling it for $50 a box).

Next I want to tackle the floor which has worn paint in the middle (where the car is parked) and chipping on the perimeter of the garage. It is not epoxy but I dont know what type of paint that was used. All I know is that its ugly and it has to go.

The options I am currently debatting are:

1- Rent a floor maintainer from HD for 45/day with a sanding attachment.
2- Buy the product HD recommended which sounds like a paint stripper.
3- Try those new soy based products I keep hearing about that are low fumes.

If it helps, I plan on putting down VCT flooring so if any of you have suggestions about post "stripping" the paint I could use that too (ie. Primer, sealer for the concrete pre-adhesive).

Thank you all and I will take some pics tomorrow so I can show you guys my working progress. Its nice to talk to people that love this stuff. My friends are getting tired of me talking about my projects (I am only 23).

Advertisement

Imessano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 12:30 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 75

Concrete garage floor.