Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-31-2012, 11:04 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

Carpeting my hardwood

Hi All,

We have a living room, dining room, and large office that have hardwood floors. We also have a 1 year old and plan on having at least one more in the near future.

Its clear to me that these hardwood floors are going to take a beating, and we have been talking about potentially carpeting the lower level just to protect the hardwood for the next ten years or so. I am new at all this DIY stuff, and have formed an (unfounded haha) opinion that the wall to wall carpeting would be too hard for me to DIY.

Does anyone have any opinions on A. my plans to protect the hardwood or B. whether or not I could do it myself?

teamcampreder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 11:08 AM   #2
Jack of all - master none

Rewards Points: 522

Carpeting my hardwood

With a dog and twins, I can tell you that your hardwood will take a beating. If you like the look of the wood > than carpet though, just know in your mind that you will be paying to have it refinished once you kids get beyond the "beating" stage. You may find that the price of refinishing the floors will be less than the price of buying/installing carpeting. Plus, carpet in dining rooms is destined to get full of yuck, especially with kids.

hyunelan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hyunelan2 For This Useful Post:
teamcampreder (01-31-2012)
Old 01-31-2012, 12:23 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 75

Carpeting my hardwood

Good to know... Maybe just buying a real big area rug for the living room and maybe a runner on the stairs would be my best bet. Thanks! I love bouncing things off you guys its always such solid advice.
teamcampreder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 12:39 PM   #4
Ole Wood Worker

Rewards Points: 2,596

Carpeting my hardwood