Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-07-2011, 09:08 PM   #76
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 3,855
Share |
Default

Carpet on stair treads only???


Can you take the stovepipe down while you install that area? It would be easier that way.

__________________
The ads in my post are there without my permission. I do not endorse any of the products.
Semi-Retired Installer
Installing since 1973
rusty baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 09:21 PM   #77
Member
 
cocobolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Gulf Islands, B.C., Canada
Posts: 6,630
Default

Carpet on stair treads only???


Quote:
Originally Posted by rusty baker View Post
Can you take the stovepipe down while you install that area? It would be easier that way.
Now there's an idea...I think that might be possible.

The two top sections are collapsible, and the second section goes just below the floor. Which means it might work OK.

I can always use the other wood stove to keep the place warm while this one is out of commission.
Attached Thumbnails
Carpet on stair treads only???-chimney-sec..jpg  
__________________
Just an old guy messin' with bits of wood...
...the friendliest thread on the site! Come on by.
http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/gulf-...uilding-34958/
cocobolo is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cocobolo For This Useful Post:
BigJim (12-08-2011)
Old 12-07-2011, 09:30 PM   #78
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 3,855
Default

Carpet on stair treads only???


You can kick it in like a regular room. Rub it down on the strip and carefully cut the center. Much easier than going around it and seaming it back together.
__________________
The ads in my post are there without my permission. I do not endorse any of the products.
Semi-Retired Installer
Installing since 1973
rusty baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 10:13 PM   #79
Member
 
cocobolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Gulf Islands, B.C., Canada
Posts: 6,630
Default

Carpet on stair treads only???


Roger that Rusty. I just got the second row of underlay in place...it goes around one of the support posts. I will have to cut the underlay back somewhat around that post in order to nail some tackless in place.

The same will apply at that big opening in the floor which I have also just arrived at.
Attached Thumbnails
Carpet on stair treads only???-around-post.jpg   Carpet on stair treads only???-open-end.jpg  
__________________
Just an old guy messin' with bits of wood...
...the friendliest thread on the site! Come on by.
http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/gulf-...uilding-34958/
cocobolo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 10:15 PM   #80
Member
 
cocobolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Gulf Islands, B.C., Canada
Posts: 6,630
Default

Carpet on stair treads only???


The first row of carpet just misses that post, so that's one thing I won't need to deal with..at least for now.
__________________
Just an old guy messin' with bits of wood...
...the friendliest thread on the site! Come on by.
http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/gulf-...uilding-34958/
cocobolo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 10:47 PM   #81
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 460
Default

Carpet on stair treads only???


are you loose laying the underpad?, I can't seem to see any staples in it.
fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 10:58 PM   #82
Member
 
cocobolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Gulf Islands, B.C., Canada
Posts: 6,630
Default

Carpet on stair treads only???


Quote:
Originally Posted by fixrite View Post
are you loose laying the underpad?, I can't seem to see any staples in it.
Yes, at least for now.

The destructions with the underpad say to use duct tape to attach it to the tackless and to the adjoining pads.

I can certainly whack a few staples in if you think it's better.

They do say you can use staples, but taping is apparently preferred.

While we are on their recommendations, they also say to use the lowest heat setting for the iron when seaming, as high temps can damage the eco-foam.
__________________
Just an old guy messin' with bits of wood...
...the friendliest thread on the site! Come on by.
http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/gulf-...uilding-34958/

Last edited by cocobolo; 12-07-2011 at 11:03 PM.
cocobolo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 11:05 PM   #83
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 460
Default

Carpet on stair treads only???


I would staple the underpaid, it deters it from moving in the future. In regards to the temp setting you must make sure it melts the glue on the ironing tape or it will not adhere well to your carpet. If you must use a low setting that will not damage the underpaid, you may need to iron the carpet with something between it and the pad or in another room where you do not have pad yet. Generally that is not always a workable solution. You can do a test on a piece of ironing tape to see if it will work, just use it on an old piece of carpet or on a scrap piece, then you will know for sure.
fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 11:06 PM   #84
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 460
Default

Carpet on stair treads only???


Also try and keep some ventilation going as it can get a little smokey and stinks as well.
fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 11:17 PM   #85
Member
 
cocobolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Gulf Islands, B.C., Canada
Posts: 6,630
Default

Carpet on stair treads only???


Quote:
Originally Posted by fixrite View Post
Also try and keep some ventilation going as it can get a little smokey and stinks as well.
The Eco-foam gang suggests a low temperature heat bond tape.

So what I have is Roberts 50-240xt tape, which says lower odor and smoke and lower melt point.

You don't suppose they would kid me now, do you?

What could I use between the pad and carpet to keep the pad cool? A piece of sheet metal wouldn't work because it would store the heat and just get hotter. Nothing comes to mind right off hand that I might have here.
__________________
Just an old guy messin' with bits of wood...
...the friendliest thread on the site! Come on by.
http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/gulf-...uilding-34958/
cocobolo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 11:19 PM   #86
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 460
Default

Carpet on stair treads only???


a piece of paneling cut down to a manageable size would work. The tape is alright by the way.
fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 11:25 PM   #87
Member
 
cocobolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Gulf Islands, B.C., Canada
Posts: 6,630
Default

Carpet on stair treads only???


Quote:
Originally Posted by fixrite View Post
a piece of paneling cut down to a manageable size would work. The tape is alright by the way.
....aaaah, of course. That I should have on hand. Thanks.
__________________
Just an old guy messin' with bits of wood...
...the friendliest thread on the site! Come on by.
http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/gulf-...uilding-34958/
cocobolo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 11:29 PM   #88
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 460
Default

Carpet on stair treads only???


Glad to be of help. By the way, I think the work you have been doing is fantastic, awesome and I never get tired of looking at your pics. You do some great great work sir. P.S. Sand the edges of the plywood so it doesn't get caught on your pad or carpet. I would use 3 or 4 ft pieces so it would be easier to manage.
fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 11:37 PM   #89
Member
 
cocobolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Gulf Islands, B.C., Canada
Posts: 6,630
Default

Carpet on stair treads only???


Quote:
Originally Posted by fixrite View Post
Glad to be of help. By the way, I think the work you have been doing is fantastic, awesome and I never get tired of looking at your pics. You do some great great work sir. P.S. Sand the edges of the plywood so it doesn't get caught on your pad or carpet. I would use 3 or 4 ft pieces so it would be easier to manage.
Thanks again. I will look in the morning and see what's here. Pretty sure I have some strips about that long and I'll make sure they get well sanded.
__________________
Just an old guy messin' with bits of wood...
...the friendliest thread on the site! Come on by.
http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/gulf-...uilding-34958/
cocobolo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 03:20 PM   #90
Member
 
cocobolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Gulf Islands, B.C., Canada
Posts: 6,630
Default

Carpet on stair treads only???


HEEEEEEELP!!!!

I just cut a big triangle off my first piece of carpet - 58" wide at the base - which I thought should have left 7' 2'' left.

When I looked at the bottom of the triangle, I was positive it wasn't that long.

My magic tape measure says there is 6' 7 3/4" left...in other words, the roll isn't anywhere near 12' wide. Fortunately, it isn't the triangle that I need, so the piece I cut is fine - except that it is 7" less in overall width than I expected.

I checked the other two rolls, and they are all 11' 4 7/8" wide.

Is this normal? I thought it should be 12' wide, isn't that a standard width?

Now I am 21" less in width than I thought I would have for the three rolls all together. That's a problem.

The room is 35' long at the extremities. Three rolls at 12' would have made 36', leaving just enough to cover the room after trimming the edges.

__________________
Just an old guy messin' with bits of wood...
...the friendliest thread on the site! Come on by.
http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/gulf-...uilding-34958/
cocobolo is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the correct way to redo stair treads. John/Suz Flooring 5 10-13-2011 08:11 AM
Carpet upstairs with hardwood stairs ... what to do with top stair? jmai14 Flooring 3 09-10-2011 08:57 PM
2x12 redwood stair treads cracking in center JimmyRrichards Carpentry 4 08-10-2011 10:29 AM
Refacing stair treads Stair newbee Flooring 2 08-10-2010 10:35 PM
New stair treads and flooring rickkeeter Flooring 2 02-24-2010 10:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.