Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-16-2008, 09:29 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Carpet installation on Dricore

I am about to install carpet (plus carpet pad) on my Dricore floor in the basement. There is no baseboard installed yet.
I know this is an old topic but could anybody tell me what is wrong with the following steps:
1-Installing tack strips (How much should be the gap between the tack strips and the wall?)
2-Installing carpet
3-Installing baseboard on top of the carpet

I know many say first install the baseboard then carpet but I simply do not undrestand what is wrong with the above?
The reason that I do not want to first install the baseboard then carpet is that I am not a professional and probably the gap I will leave as "gulley" (Tha gap between the tack trip and the basboard) will not be good enough for a perfect look. Second when pushing the carpet in the gulley I can simply scratch the basboard and the most important factor is the simplicity of the way I have in mind.
Any comment is appreciated!

Cyrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2008, 01:24 PM   #2
Boz
Gus

I have been installing carpet professionally for 28yrs. Nothing wrong with your steps listed, you can do it either way. Put your tackstrip back the thickness of your baseboard + 1/4". When you install the base after the carpet is down, don't push it down to tight, just enough so there are no gaps between the base and the nap of the carpet. This will make it easier to remove the carpet later on when it needs replaced.

Boz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2008, 01:36 PM   #3
OLD Newbie