Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-06-2008, 07:34 PM   #1

Share |
Question

Bouncy mortar bed

I am currently remodelling my bathroom floor and so far my unlevel floor has eaten me alive. The floor evenly slopes about an inch from the back wall up to about 4 feet into the room and then slowly but surely levels off as you move away from the back wall.

Now my neighbor, an (old school) mason by trade, suggested we pour a mortar bed. We did, about an inch plus thick. Now there is a big crack in the bed (about 2ft long) that appeared right after it was poured. That I am not as worried about as I am about the fact that around the edges of the room when you step on the mortar bed you can feel it move. In the bad spots you can actually hear it clang against the sub floor.

Basically we put down a vapor barrier and then poured the mortar no wire mesh or felt. I thought that was a mistake but the "expert" said that was fine.

Has anyone ever seen a bouncy mortar bed? Is the lack of wire mesh the problem? If so you do i have to dig up and start over. I paid $300 for the labor but my neighbor is not being helpful at all.

Appreciate any thoughts.

Thanks

padola07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2008, 06:39 AM   #2

Bouncy mortar bed

Mortar beds are very old school...so I'M I...but never ever only 1" thick... more like 5" to 6" or better. stop right now before you waste even more money.

Get a pro to look at this....hire them for a consultation.

Lots of factors to get right before you tile...

Big Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2008, 07:06 AM   #3
Tileguy

Bouncy mortar bed