Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-19-2013, 03:58 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Bouncy Floor

New guy here who just stumbled in from Woodworking Talk. Looks like this forum could be a good place to hangout as well. Recently I had to replace my original fiberglass shower stall as it cracked across the bottom. Upon inspection during removal, it appeared the support fiberglass seperated from the "body" and weakened it.

When we replaced this, we decided to install a fiberglass floor pan and then tile the walls w/ 6x6s as I have some experience with tile. I thought it turned out pretty good but I noticed where the sealant meets the tile & pan, there is movement of the floor along the middle of the outside wall. The movement is enough that even after 2-3 days of letting the bathroom caulk dry, it still slices apart from the movement. The subfloor is 3/4" advontec and is directly attached to the joists underneath. The pan is about 32x48, and the joists run 16" on center across the 32" direction. There is a 4' or so crawl space under this area which I spent much time in already doing the plumbing rework.

So, what is the best way to add support underneath to eliminate the movement of the floor/pan?

Thank you in advance for your help with htis. It is greatly appreciated!!!!

Mark

Burb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 05:07 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 3,000

Bouncy Floor

What's the span and width of the floor joist?

Old 04-19-2013, 08:32 PM   #3
Tileguy

Rewards Points: 2,000

Bouncy Floor

Mark,

I don't think the joists' span is an issue. I think since you cut out the old subfloor you forgot to install blocking under the seam where old and new meet. Just get under there and install the necessary supports. Use 2x4 or larger, well fastened.

Jaz