Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-14-2008, 10:24 AM   #1

Share |

Beginner decide Laminate vs vinyl squares in 10x28 backyard cabin?

I bought a cabin for my backyard and had my electrician run 120/240 vac underground to it from my nearby basement panel box. He also has insulated it and added sheetrock and mudded it out. Now he will primer the walls and add a drop ceiling and then run vinyl skirting around the base. He said he does not want to paint it nor add flooring so it will be up to me for that. This cabin is a pretreated wood cabin on cinderblocks it has a woodsy look with an 8 x 12' front porch also. He has mudded the seams and other places on the sheetrock and it is very dusty and collecting on the wall mounted heater/cooling unit, floor and front porch.

Now that you have a picture of what I have to work with, I am an electrical engineer but not that handy with mechanical tools. I need to paint the walls so that does not bother me as much as deciding on the flooring. My wife wants to go with vinyl squares because it is easy and cheap. I like the idea of hardwood floors but will be satisfied with laminate flooring because of its durability from what I hear. The women at the flooring store said I would need 3 rolls of something to laydown over the plywood floors before I use the laminate. Is the laminate easy to put together. I don't want to have to paint or stain them afterwoods. Just make it snap and go if that is how it works.

Is it really that simple or should I go after the simpler vinyl squares?

I want something to keep good value if I resell and I think vinyl would be too cheap. Am I right about this?

Thanks.

tdg8934 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 11:41 AM   #2
Doer of Many Things