Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-23-2012, 09:03 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Jasper, GA
Posts: 38
Share |
Default

Bathroom Tile


I'm re-doing my upstairs bathroom. The toilet was mounted to the main floor with a wood sub-floor cut around it and laminant on top. I removed sub-floor and toilet. I will be replacing with concrete board and porcelin tile. Question is, how do I lay the concrete board (attach it to floor) and what is used to cut the board?

Savinmoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 09:37 PM   #2
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 3,973
Default

Bathroom Tile


Hi Savin,

Hopefully you didn't mean to say you're removing the subfloor and replacing it with concrete board. Please tell us what is on the joists and how many layers.

Once the base is determined to meet minimum specs you will install the tile backer into fresh thinset mortar, fasten and then tape all seams with the special mesh tape. What brand and thickness of board are you using? Cut with a utility knife, or carbide tipped laminate scoring tool made for the purpose. http://www.contractorsdirect.com/Carbide-Scoring-Cutter

Jaz

__________________
Tile 4 You LLC Troy, MI

DITRA Installs - KERDI Watertight-Mold-Free Showers. I have NEVER made a mistake, I thought I did ONCE, but, I was WRONG! A+ BBB rating - est. 1987 - over 50 yrs. exp.
JazMan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JazMan For This Useful Post:
Savinmoney (09-24-2012)
Old 09-24-2012, 03:27 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Jasper, GA
Posts: 38
Default

Bathroom Tile


Jaz, I have 3/4 (I believe, it's pretty thick) plywood on the joists. There WAS a real thin wood on top of that with laminat. (That's what I called the sub-floor..may have used the wrong word!) I pulled it up. So, was going with concrete board on top of the plywood with tile on top of it. If this is ok to use, what thickness should the concrete board be? Thanks.
Savinmoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 09:59 AM   #4
Stuck in the 70's
 
Blondesense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: south central Missouri
Posts: 2,129
Default

Bathroom Tile


Quote:
Originally Posted by Savinmoney View Post
...what thickness should the concrete board be? Thanks.
On floors, use 1/4". The only reason to use 1/2" is if, for some reason, you want the extra height.
Blondesense is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Blondesense For This Useful Post:
Savinmoney (09-24-2012)
Old 09-24-2012, 10:06 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 377
Default

Bathroom Tile


as far as cutting is concerned, I use a circular saw. Make sure to cut outside as it generates a ton of concrete dust.
allthumbsdiy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to allthumbsdiy For This Useful Post:
Savinmoney (09-24-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing tile in bathroom floor (2x2 tile) Paul8434 Remodeling 1 09-05-2011 06:06 PM
Subfloor and Porcelain tile prep sugarhousemama Flooring 4 12-03-2010 06:47 PM
Failing bathroom tile floor--best options quinten Flooring 3 11-16-2010 06:56 PM
Bathroom Renovation-To Tile or not to tile jte1130 Remodeling 7 04-14-2009 10:39 AM
Help! Botched bathroom tile job steamed17 Remodeling 13 05-01-2008 09:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.