Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-22-2009, 02:21 AM   #1
I try to not screw up.

Share |

Bathroom subfloor question

I am going to be redoing my bathroom. We are going to be putting tile on the floor. My mother in law's boyfriend is going to be doing it and is a tile setter by profession.

My question is this: He said to remove the plywood subfloor and put down 1/4" hardy backer. I was confused and said that that wasn't ridged enough. I asked him if he was going to float concrete on top of it and he said yes.

Is that rigid enough for the floor?
2long4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 02:27 AM   #2
I try to not screw up.

I hear a lot about people using concrete board for the shower. He always puts a moisture barrier on the drywall then puts up chicken wire then floats the concrete. He says it will be more level, plumb, and will be more water proof. Is that correct?
Old 01-22-2009, 05:28 AM   #3
BUILDER / REMODELING CONT

I personally wood not rely on the 1/4" hardi board just as a subfloor with a mud job!. any mud jobs that I have come across was installed on 3/4" 1x8 T&G over the tops of the joists or the subfloor recessed 2" down between the joists with the tops chopped at a slight angle and then floated. or just 3/4" plywood.
I would not do it that way. leave the subfloor and float over it. if you remove the subfloor You will compromise the integrity of the entire floor system. with proper framing there should be a double joist under each wall partition but I have come across plenty of remolding jobs where there was not, if this is true in your case what happens to the wall that's on top of the subfloor when you cut the subfloor out with no double joist?? BOB
buletbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 06:50 AM   #4