Baseboards -- Can We Skip Them? - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-12-2009, 02:32 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Baseboards -- can we skip them?

Hello -- BRAND new here, and married to a a diy'er, whom I love dearly but whom I feel it is my job to "project manage" (since I used to do that for a living, lol). I am a researcher -- he is not. So THANK GOD I found this forum!!!

Anyhow -- here is the latest (much more to come!): my husband installed new plank bamboo flooring in our living room. He removed the existing baseboards -- which were very simple, small and flat. The underneath (against the wall) looks fine. SO, he is thinking about finishing with only quarter-round (attached directly to the wall) -- and skip the baseboards. Is this advisable?

Our place in a so-cal townhouse 1/2 mile from the beach. Was built in 1981 -- has very clean, modern-ish lines, and that is our overall style. So, would this work? Or would you maybe go back to a simple baseboard, one that matched the paint color? THoughts, suggestions? (I am tired of looking at unfinished floor/wall trim!)

Advertisement

greenmama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 05:47 AM   #2
Tool Geek

Rewards Points: 2,072

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenmama View Post
...... he is thinking about finishing with only quarter-round ....... and skip the baseboards. Is this advisable? ....
IMO it would look dumb. A simple primed mdf base at HD or Lowe's wouldn't be much more work than quarter round and it would look good by itself. No quarter round needed.

Tool List:
Supplies:
  • Base 1-1/2 t0 2"h (Big Box Store)
  • Brads, 1" (hardware store)
  • Glue 8oz Titebond Molding & trim Wood Glue (hardware store)
  • Paint
Procedure:
  • Measure lengths required and combine for the longest manageable pieces
  • Cut and Miter then dry fit sections