Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-25-2011, 01:39 PM   #1

Share |

Allure Flooring

Hello,
Hope I am posting in the proper place...its my first time
I am considering using Allure flooring in a small bathroom and appreciate all the previously posted comments.
I am wondering however, has anyone ever put this over an existing tile floor. Am told by HD that its fine to do so and the backing of the Allure product will adjust itself to the indentations of the grout it you will.

The existing tile bathroom floor is rather old / ugly and this would give the bathroom at definate new look...am just looking for some advise before I begin...don't want to make it any worse in that bathroom.

canidoit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 05:56 PM   #2
Pro Flooring Installer

Allure Flooring

I would think you would need to level the floor(fill all the grout lines) before that would work. I assume you are talking about ceramic tile?

rusty baker is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rusty baker For This Useful Post:
canidoit (03-25-2011)
Old 03-26-2011, 07:25 AM   #3

Allure Flooring

Not to sound dense but why would you need to level the grout lines? Do you think the laminate would actually sag and show lines, ie. it couldn't bridge 1/8"? I am considering doing the same thing to buy a few years/push that project down "the list" to where I can tear out and redo the bathroom floor completely.

Last edited by ThatDaveGuy; 03-26-2011 at 10:03 AM.
ThatDaveGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 09:24 AM   #4
Pro Flooring Installer

Allure Flooring

Allure is not laminate, it is vinyl.
Old 03-26-2011, 10:03 AM   #5

Allure Flooring

:doh: My mistake, but it isn't stick-on vinyl tile, it is heavier stick-together floating flooring, isn't it? So I'd ask the same thing, it wouldn't bridge a grout line?