Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-23-2012, 10:42 AM   #1

Share |

2x6 flooring

Hello!! I am brand new to this chatroom. I am trying to figure out new flooring for my entire house that i could do room by room as money allows. I clean a house of a friend that has 2x6 flooring that they keep stained that has been in their house for years, i do not know what kind of wood it is.... I love it and would love to start with my dining room which is carpeted now. I would love advice, what needs to be done first after carpet is pulled up, what type of wood to get and where to buy it from, etc. etc. etc..... I do have two small dogs in my house so i need something that will work good for pets.... thanks so much for your time...

rcrchick33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 11:04 AM   #2

2x6 flooring

No clue what type flooring they could have used that would be 2 X 6. Is this on a second floor in a cabin type home or log cabin?
What you can or can not use on your own floor would partly depend on what's there now.
For 6" wide loong floors I'd suggest engineered prefinished flooring in most cases.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
rcrchick33 (10-23-2012)
Old 10-23-2012, 11:29 AM   #3

2x6 flooring

to me it just looks like 2x6 wood you can by at like home depot or lowes, it is not like hardwood flooring and you can tell it has shrunk some over the years and the all dont fit flush up against each other. I will try to ask her what kind of wood it is when i see her next time.
Old 10-23-2012, 11:52 AM   #4

2x6 flooring

Pine?

Pine is a soft wood that is often used for rustic environments.