Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2012, 10:03 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

1/2" sublfoor...what underlayment for hardwood?


Hi,
I decided to replace the laminate floors in my kitchen with hardwood. After ripping them up I found 1/2" plywood with 3/4" particle board underlayment. I ripped out the underlayment leaving only the 1/2" plywood subfloor.

1. What underlayment do I need to put down over the top so I can place oak hardwood strip flooring? What is recommended and what would you use in your own home?

2. What fasteners should I use to put the underlayment on top of the subfloor, and where do I place them?

3. How good of shape does the subfloor need to be in to prevent squeaking? I intend to nail or screw it down before placing the underlayment on it.

4. Roofing felt only between the underlayment and strip flooring?

5. Use glue for the underlayment to the subfloor with the fasteners?

6. Any other considerations?


Thank you for taking the time to read my post

Jrhenry24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 10:27 AM   #2
AHH, SPANS!!!
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Durham NC
Posts: 1,666
Rewards Points: 10
Default

1/2" sublfoor...what underlayment for hardwood?


you also have to consider the thickness of the new underlayment when added to the new hardwood. For example, the laminate flooring was thinner than average hardwood so if you went back with 3/4" under layment and then the hardwoods on top of that then 1 1/2" would be total thickness. That will most likely put the hardwoods up into the baseboard zone and into all of the door jambs. Most houses I've seen with 1/2" sub floor had 5/8" on top of it equaling about 1 1/8" total thickness.

hand drive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 10:37 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,376
Rewards Points: 80
Default

1/2" sublfoor...what underlayment for hardwood?


Or better yet get rid of the 1/2 also. It's about useless as a subfloor and acts more like just 1/2 shims on top of the joist because it just sags between them.
Ypu can cut it out with a Toe Kick saw along the walls.
I'd then use 3/4 T & G Advatec as the subflooring with constrution adhesive on the joist and ether #8 ring shank nails or ceramic coated decking screws.
It comes with the nailing pattern printed with on the sheets.
Then a layer of 1/2 or 3/8" underlayment rated plywood making sure the seams do not line up with the subfloor below.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
hand drive (10-01-2012)
Old 10-02-2012, 06:53 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,906
Rewards Points: 0
Default

1/2" sublfoor...what underlayment for hardwood?


What joecaption says. I used Advantec for the subflooring when I built my house. It is a very good product.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 09:19 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Default

1/2" sublfoor...what underlayment for hardwood?


Is it neccessary to rip out the 1/2". We are talking 300 square feet so that would amount to several hundreds of more dollars in costs, 12-15 additioanl sheets of playwood for underlaymwnt, additional nails, and manpower to saw out the old subfloor and add blocking to the sides where there are no joists. If i laid advantech or some plywood over the 1/2" subfloor would i ever notice a difference?
Jrhenry24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 10:01 AM   #6
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,262
Rewards Points: 48
Default

1/2" sublfoor...what underlayment for hardwood?


I can relate to your pain.....been there...done that.....

Heard the phrase "You learn by your mistakes"....that is why I am the guys above are so bloody smart....

If your ok with the added height of the floor and the obvious trimming of doors you will have to make...not to mention the likely 'steps' as you transition from one room to another...then, yea, leave down the 1/2 'plywood'.

But if your going through the expense of hardwood floors....might as well do it right.....especially if you don't want squeaking....

To answer some of your questions.....

I would use screws to attach the 3/4" plywood to your 1/2" plywood...I would use 2" screws and screw in on top of the floor joist...that will give you about 3/4" of screw into your joist and thus reduce the chances of squeaking.

Felt? I don't know the answer to that one.....

Glue? Only if you were going straight on top of floor joists.

BTW...little side note....I'm in the middle of a 2-story addition to my house (been working on it for a year already)....upstairs I used 1 1/8" T&G. At first I complained to the architect....he said "Do it, you will understand afterwards." I did it....I now understand. My existing house is 3/4".......and everything bounces.....upstairs? It's about like walking on concrete......I do understand...

So....the advice Joe is giving you is because "He understands"....We are lucky that Joe and others like him contrimbute here.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 03:22 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pacific North west
Posts: 1,248
Rewards Points: 8
Default

1/2" sublfoor...what underlayment for hardwood?


replace it with 3/4 TG Plywood stay away from that cheep OSB stuff.
Nailbags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 04:04 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Default

1/2" sublfoor...what underlayment for hardwood?


I have only two doors that i am replacing anyways. Will i ever notice the difference if i lay 3/4 t&g over the 1/2 as opposed to ripping 1/2 out and replacing w advantech and an underlayment?
Jrhenry24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 04:07 PM   #9
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,262
Rewards Points: 48
Default

1/2" sublfoor...what underlayment for hardwood?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrhenry24 View Post
I have only two doors that i am replacing anyways. Will i ever notice the difference if i lay 3/4 t&g over the 1/2 as opposed to ripping 1/2 out and replacing w advantech and an underlayment?
Have you ever had a car repainted? Did any of the previous 'imperfections' show up?

You might be ok....but then again....if not....makes for an expensive mistake.

Care to hear about my experience with not useing T&G plywood?

You won't find me not using it again for a floor.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 06:58 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Default

1/2" sublfoor...what underlayment for hardwood?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
Have you ever had a car repainted? Did any of the previous 'imperfections' show up?

You might be ok....but then again....if not....makes for an expensive mistake.

Care to hear about my experience with not useing T&G plywood?

You won't find me not using it again for a floor.
yes, i would like to hear your experience. i have probably gotten told 4 different ways to go about this by four different professionals. is there anyone who has laid plywood over 1/2 without problems? this is what i was originally told to do
Jrhenry24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 07:57 PM   #11
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,636
Rewards Points: 28
Default

1/2" sublfoor...what underlayment for hardwood?


If the old 1/2" ply is sound and flat--you can leave it and add another layer in top---1/2" bc is plenty---I use 1/4" small crown staples--1 1/2" long about every 6 to 8 inches----

Plenty of subfloor for 3/4" tongue and groove oak----

You have to be practical and draw the line between "Absolutely Ideal" and 'what will work just fine"---1/2" on top will be 'Just fine"

__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
concrete tile roof underlayment recommendations?? bobinphx Roofing/Siding 9 08-14-2012 10:20 PM
Replacing underlayment in entire house...what material to use? Dave321 Flooring 23 12-23-2011 02:38 PM
Underlayment question-- "extending" existing underlayment fastener and type cbrc5eric Flooring 9 06-01-2011 04:03 PM
1/2" Polyisocyanurate as underlayment for laminate Hawss Drew General DIY Discussions 3 03-02-2010 05:38 PM
Underlayment height for tile / carpet.... scheenstra Flooring 2 04-23-2008 12:12 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.