Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > Project Showcase

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-22-2007, 08:49 PM   #1

Share |

Small Deck Project...

This is my first post here so I thought I'd contribute something after lurking for awhile.

I was off of work this week and decided to take on a little deck project for my house in Baltimore City. I finished the entire thing in 4 days working by myself with about a week of prior carpentry experience (I am a former math teacher and currently an independent contractor for ESPN working with wireless cameras by trade)

It's a floating deck and is even throughout which was a feat in and of itself because of how not level the ground is.

What started as a small patio around the tree became a 30 x 10, 2 level behemoth. :banana:

The fencing is actually really cool stuff. I had originally gotten it just to keep trash from blowing into my yard. However, by how the lighting is in the street with the sunlight and the light post at night, you can barely see into the yard because it is significantly darker due to shade. You can, however see out of it quite well and it's been fun sneaking up on my neighbors in broad daylight.

The yard was in such poor condition when I bought it. There was debris everywhere and that tree is eating the neighbors house.

How it originally looked:

Last edited by specialguest; 10-22-2007 at 08:56 PM.
specialguest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 08:49 PM   #2

Small Deck Project...

Day 1:

Old 10-22-2007, 08:50 PM   #3

Small Deck Project...

Day 2:

Old 10-22-2007, 08:50 PM   #4

Small Deck Project...

Day 3:

Old 10-22-2007, 08:51 PM   #5

Small Deck Project...

Old 10-22-2007, 08:51 PM   #6

Small Deck Project...

And finito:

Old 10-22-2007, 08:52 PM   #7

Small Deck Project...

Old 10-23-2007, 07:04 AM   #8

Small Deck Project...

Good luck with it, but you should have asked around for some advice. The deck looks good, but will it last?