Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > Project Showcase

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-11-2007, 04:44 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Reptile Cage Finished

I just finished building a cage for my pet chameleon. It is my first attempt at builing anything out of wood. I usually sculpt alot of stuff out of foam, which I made the rock wall out of. The cage will be mounted on a table in order to make it stand higher. I was going to make a cabinet table for it, but I ran out of money I'll add that in later. 1st pic is my plans. 2nd pic is the finished product

Marc10edora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 05:18 PM   #2
fhi vinyl windows

Rewards Points: 150

Reptile Cage Finished

Looks good!

fhivinylwindows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 07:07 PM   #3
zel

Send a message via AIM to zel

Reptile Cage Finished

Awesome cage! Can you go into detail about "sculpting foam"? Looks pretty lifelike in the pics!
zel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 08:42 PM   #4

Reptile Cage Finished

Thanks for the support. The foam is really easy to work with. I use the same type of foam that those cheap 99 cent coolers are made out of. You can buy it in 8 x 4 sheets at dry wall construction supply stores. Don't buy foam at craft stores in less you really need it or if it is a special type. Craft stores overprice everything. Here is the materials I used to sculpt the rock wall.

-Foam sheets (as described)
-quick set tile mortar (used as a hardener)
-concrete dye (use as a base color)
-various colors of laytex paints (what ever color you choose. Usually lighter than the base color)
-concrete acrylic fortifier (used to help the bond and make it more waterproof)
-big sponge
-A bunch of old house paint brushes
-Hot knife or anything like it
-kitchen steak knife
-various grades of sand paper and a sanding block

1)lay/draw out the shapes of the rocks on a foam sheet with a sharpie marker