My Shower Project, Denshield Backerboard, Tiled Walls - Project Showcase - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > Project Showcase

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-23-2008, 05:05 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 528

my shower project, denshield backerboard, tiled walls

if you like this project, you might like some of my others:

my toilet install, 90 year old home
my toilet install, 90 year old home

my floor refurbish project
my floor refurbish project

hi everyone,

just thought i'd post my shower install maybe someone will find useful in the future. if you have any questions or comments just post here and i'll get back to you.

thanks to everyone on this board who has given great advice, your help is immensely appreciated!

ok, for this shower it is my first attempt. my wife wanted a frameless glass and tiled walls. when i started this shower i did not know the pros/cons of denshield or i would have gone full kerdi (which i also had no idea existed until AFTER i started the shower).

i bought a MAAX shower from HD, one that was frameless, the plastic walls were optional (in this case i didn't want them) and comes with a prefabbed reinforced plastic base. this was perfect for me because i didn't trust myself with the custom tiled base, i wanted something fool proof.

ps. the instructions for the base that came with shower said that the drain pipe rubber seal should go on TOP of the base, but that is wrong. there should be silicon on top and the rubber goes under - i was a bit off when i found this out the hard way..

but life goes on and the reno continues

Advertisement

Last edited by Knucklez; 04-13-2008 at 07:39 PM.
Knucklez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 05:07 PM   #2