DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

My house remodel

18K views 27 replies 12 participants last post by  cocobolo 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello, this is my first post here, sorry its not in the introduction section, but this seemed better off here.

So, my girlfriend and I are about to move into a house this weekend that I have been working on since April. Her parents bought it and they are going to rent it to us to a nominal fee.

A little background on the house. It is located in Chicagos Northwest suburbs and was purchased at a very good price. 2 bedrooms, 1.5 bathrooms, living room, dining room, breezeway, foyer, full unfinished basement and a 1.5 detached car garage. The house was built in the 1920's.

They covered the costs of this remodel and I provided most of the labor, minus the plumbing and electrical.

A little background on myself, I am a glazier by profession but am fluent in the ways of carpentry. I am by no means a professional but I do take my time to try to do things right, so please go easy on me:wink:

Anyways, on to the pictures. Ill try to keep this organized for your viewing pleasure and separate each room to its own post.

See less See more
#2 ·
Bathroom

This was the most extensive as it was all torn out to the studs. The bathroom was remodeled sometime in the 50's and then things added periodically until we got the house.

The tiles on the wall are plastic. There were two doors going into the room, one coming from the master bedroom which I removed as you can walk an extra couple feet to get in through the normal door and we need extra storage space.

The soffit above the tub was removed to make the room appear larger with its 9' ceilings. we kept the tub as it was an odd ball size and would have been expensive to get a new one (gf and her parents wanted to keep a tub there).

All new electric was installed in this room as well as new copper in the entire house.

Before: