My Basement Theater Equipment Install - Project Showcase - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > Project Showcase

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2013, 08:39 AM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

My basement theater equipment install


Nice work... looks very expensive.

Advertisement

GregsBarn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 09:25 AM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 4,110
Rewards Points: 2,692
Default

My basement theater equipment install


i use a europower ep2500 to power my 2 CCs sd12's.
there are several pics of my stuff in these pics.
https://www.google.com/search?q=css+...w=1333&bih=748


i want to step up to 2 18" with my other ep2500.
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=293-666

Last edited by Fix'n it; 05-18-2013 at 09:28 AM.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 12:04 PM   #33
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,222
Rewards Points: 530
Default

My basement theater equipment install


Have you looked into the newer Crown XLS Drivecore series amplifiers? They are the way I'm leaning when I get to the point of upgrades once I finish initial construction.
http://www.crownaudio.com/usa/xls-drivecore.html

I'm slowly making small progress. In reality, all that is left to do to call this room finished is:
box in the support poles
finish baseboard
paint doors & trim
stain stairs
buy carpet and have it installed
install bi-fold closet doors
cabinets & sink (easy, except for paying-for it).

It's close to the end, but time shrinks down to nothing during the summer months. Plus my almost-2-year-old twins are killing me.

I was able to box in one of the 3 poles last week:

Used 4x poplar 1x6s. Ripped 2 down to 4" and biscuit-ed 3 sides together. Put it over the pole and shimmed it level/plumb. Shot Great Stuff into the gaps, being careful for it to have enough room to expand and not pop the wood apart.



Put Great Stuff in what would be the gap on the final side and put on the 4th face. Clamped the bejeezus out of it, not only for glue joints to dry, but to make sure the foam didn't expand it in a way I didn't want.



When it was unclamped and shims removed, I can put my full weight into it, and it doesn't move. Perfect. Used filler where needed then sanded with 150 then 220.



There will be crown molding on the top that will cover the gap.
hyunelan2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 12:16 PM   #34
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,222
Rewards Points: 530
Default

My basement theater equipment install


I should also mention: back to the theater equipment side of this thread, I am looking for a spectrum analyzer to mount in the AV rack. Not for anything more than some visual eye-candy. About all I can find is stuff attached to equalizers, and I'm not positive I want to put in a whole equalizer (that I won't use) just to get the little display of dancing bars on it.

So I'm considering a DIY approach.
In a blank panel on my rack, I can cut an opening and attach one of these LED spectrum displays:


Not sure if it's too much though (that one is about 8-1/2" wide by 4-1/2" tall). $45 is also somewhat expensive when I can get a whole EQ with display for not much more and not have it look DIY. Not sure.

Last edited by hyunelan2; 06-04-2013 at 12:41 PM.
hyunelan2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 04:47 PM   #35
Member
 
jackie treehorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: wa state
Posts: 154
Rewards Points: 150
Default

My basement theater equipment install


Wow, you got lucky with that expand foam, we used to build little foam bombs out of mdf boxes, I think it even broke a clamp or two, of course it was small area with way too much foam.

On the eq, I'm sure you could make something look nice based off previous work, but how much is "not much more money" for a real eq? I'm just guessing with twins that if it's not too much of a jump in price that it might be worth adding a real eq for the hassle of adding on another to do item on the list.
jackie treehorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 05:01 PM   #36
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,222
Rewards Points: 530
Default

My basement theater equipment install


Yeah, the foam is nowhere near enough to occupy all the space. I basically just put a blob in the top and bottom corners, than ran a thin bead along the center of the area between the pole and wood. It would have to expand many, many times over before it ran out of places to go.

For an EQ with a display, we're talking $65 new on eBay. Again, I don't care about it's sound quality or anything like that - it's just rack bling for the dancing spectrum bars.
hyunelan2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 11:08 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 4,110
Rewards Points: 2,692
Default

My basement theater equipment install


Quote:
Originally Posted by hyunelan2 View Post
Have you looked into the newer Crown XLS Drivecore series amplifiers?
i know of those. but i would have to buy them. i already have the ep2500's.
i also use a dcx2496 eq
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 10:15 AM   #38
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,222
Rewards Points: 530
Default

My basement theater equipment install


I think I really like the color we picked for doors and trim. Here is the first door finished with it's 2nd coat of paint. Still wet in this picture, but good enough to snap a picture of.



2 more primed doors to paint, plus the door I previously painted white that goes to the laundry room. I'll need to sand/scuff that one first.

Now, onto more interesting things. The AV rack. I think I'm going to DIY a display. Here is the plan.

1. I am ordering a custom cut piece of solar gray acryllic from TAP plastics. The downside is that any size you get has a minimum of $10. So, although a 5.25x19 piece works out to be less than $5, it's $10. So, I can get 2 for $10 for 3 for $14. That gives me an opportunity to mess it up. I was thinking of getting a couple different sizes, but each different size results in the $10 minimum. So, if I wanted 3 sizes (let's say 1u, 2u, 3u), I'm paying a minimum of $30.

2. I will tape off the "window" that I want to show this stuff, and paint the rest satin black to match the rack. I don't yet know if I'll paint the front or backside of the acryllic.

3. I will mount the spectrum analyzers and thermometers (maybe) behind the acrylic. This will give me a smooth face and when I shut them off, they will disappear behind the solar gray windows, leaving a blank panel.


Now... the question. What size and what configuration? I have a 2u and a 1u blank panel in place now. There is no room in a 1u to do anything with a specturm analyzer that I can get. So the question is to use smaller ones in a 2u or fill the whole space with the information panel?

This is where it will go, below the 2 Ethereal power centers:



Skethup concepts:

2 large 24*16 spectrum analyzers in a 3u mount. This takes up all the space of the 2 blank panels. Cost will be about $80, and I'll need to find a place to put the thermometers still.


1 24*16 spectrum analyzer and thermometers in the entire 3u space. Cost will be about $45. Can display a single channel, or be "split" to basically be two 12*16 displays for each channel.


2 smaller 12*11 spectrum analyzers and thermometers in a 2u space. Cost will be about $50. This is the way I am leaning. It will not have the same bar height of the larger display, but that's necessary to fit in the smaller 2u panel.
hyunelan2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 08:41 PM   #39
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 7,107
Rewards Points: 3,270
Default

My basement theater equipment install


Very slick.
Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 01:24 PM   #40
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,222
Rewards Points: 530
Default

My basement theater equipment install


Well, version one is built. I say version one because I bought 3x the plastic face panels, so I can redo this in a different way in the future. I will probably make the next version with both a power button that will trigger the whole system on/off, and a little window that I can mount the IR receiver behind for the PC (unless I end up with a RF system).

Taped off the "windows" and sprayed the back side with satin black paint, then started mounting the equipment behind the windows. They are light and may be redone, so black vinyl tape worked for this:


Most of this stuff comes from the PC world - the thermometers have molex connectors for a PC power supply, and the spectrum displays are powered by USB cables - all 5v stuff. So, a handy old 5v wall wart for a phone charger made a convenient power supply without needing to involve one of the computers.

I had tested everything by simply plugging it into the headphone jack of my phone and it worked well. The receiver did not cooperate so much. Since I am using digital audio signals, the receiver is not putting anything to the analog outputs that need to power the spectrum displays.

My workaround was a solution from the car-audio world. A line-out converter that is meant for adding amplifiers to factor car stereo systems worked perfectly:




----don't know if you can embed youtube videos on this site---
A video of it in action:

-------------------------------------------------------------

I also mounted a second display. Using a 1x2 HDMI splitter/amplifier, I installed a 21" LCD monitor that my brother gave me. Needed to use an HDMI->DVI converter to hook it up, but I had one and the net cost of adding this display was the $6 wall mount from eBay.


I would like a bigger one over there, but for now, $6 spent is good.

Advertisement

hyunelan2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to - prevent basement mold crazymountain How To Guides 36 07-23-2014 07:02 PM
Need to Install Hand Rail on Basement Stairs, but on Concrete Wall Firehawk734 Building & Construction 40 01-18-2012 09:33 AM
dig trench to install internal french drain is ok on a no footing basement? diy001 Building & Construction 0 01-14-2011 04:10 PM
How to solve problem of moist basement walls moist Building & Construction 4 08-30-2010 06:18 PM
Want to install larger window in basement wall andrewcocke Remodeling 8 02-24-2008 11:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts