Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > Project Showcase

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-10-2012, 08:44 AM   #61
wannabe carpenter
 
leiona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: west virginia
Posts: 152
Share |
Default

Kitchen remodel


goes all the way through
Attached Thumbnails
Kitchen remodel-loose-knot-2.jpg  

__________________
It's a new dawn, it's a new day, it's a new kitchen for me!

Last edited by leiona; 02-10-2012 at 08:46 AM.
leiona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 08:45 AM   #62
wannabe carpenter
 
leiona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: west virginia
Posts: 152
Default

Kitchen remodel


and this is the island...not worried about those knots so much
Attached Thumbnails
Kitchen remodel-loisland-preview.jpg  
__________________
It's a new dawn, it's a new day, it's a new kitchen for me!
leiona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 08:50 AM   #63
wannabe carpenter
 
leiona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: west virginia
Posts: 152
Default

Kitchen remodel


my lovebirds table will be awesome
Attached Thumbnails
Kitchen remodel-slab-lovebirds.jpg  
__________________
It's a new dawn, it's a new day, it's a new kitchen for me!
leiona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 09:23 AM   #64
STAFF
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 7,225
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Kitchen remodel


On the sanders, I have both Bosch and Porter-Cable 7336 and the Porter cable will work circles around the Bosch and my Bosch cost more. As mater fact I have Bosch, Porter-Cable, Dewalt, and Makita, Porter-Cable is the winner.
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

Jim
BigJim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 10:35 AM   #65
wannabe carpenter
 
leiona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: west virginia
Posts: 152
Default

Kitchen remodel


oh no! i went to take the hood cabinet down and the entire hood came down with it...!
i thought the hood and the cabinet were seperate, now i dont know what to do..Im gonna have to call my uncle to come over. He's frail with cancer so i was hoping to avoid that, ugh. i know theres electrical running to the hood but i cant find it. thats what i get for rushing.
looks like my good luck with this project is running out.

Jim, i will surely get me that porter cable orb. believe me i'm sold
Attached Thumbnails
Kitchen remodel-hood.jpg  
__________________
It's a new dawn, it's a new day, it's a new kitchen for me!

Last edited by leiona; 02-10-2012 at 11:54 AM.
leiona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 10:41 AM   #66
Member
 
cocobolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Gulf Islands, B.C., Canada
Posts: 6,590
Default

Kitchen remodel


Quote:
Originally Posted by leiona View Post
...hmmmm ok I'm just nervous to waste my $ you know? the reviews i was more worried about were the ones who said it stopped working and the on off switch broke etc, etc...but vibrations dont scare me.....especially not Good Vibrations lol.. a little orbital humor there

I'm gonna check the pawn shop and if they dont have one i'm just going to buy one from a reputable place where i can return it if something goes south.

The PC orbital WILL be mine!!

tune in later for pics of this fabulous (lol) desk i'm gonna build tonight
The on/off switch. Yes, I have had the odd problem with that. It isn't that the switch breaks, what happens is that it gets sawdust inside it and loses proper contact.

I don't understand why they made the switch the way it is made, but where the switch sits on the machine isn't exactly where the switch itself sits. The switch that you move is attached to a sort of pushrod, and that in turn leads to the switch itself.

I think mine probably ran for maybe 5 to 6 years before it started to get fussy. So I pulled the cover off the back of the machine (1 screw), saw how it worked and cleaned the switch out. I might have done that as many as 3 or possibly 4 times in all the years I have owned the machine. Annoying...yes, but not really any big deal. Why they haven't done a simple re-design is beyond me.

For years I used my machine in a boat yard where we would sometimes be sanding 5 or 6 hours a day, day after day, week after week. This thing has seen a LOT of sawdust.

You will probably need to be replacing the brushes before the switch ever gets that much sawdust inside, and you will need to pull the cover off the back to do that. Then you will see what I mean.
__________________
Just an old guy messin' with bits of wood...
...the friendliest thread on the site! Come on by.
http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/gulf-...uilding-34958/
cocobolo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 10:42 AM   #67
Member
 
cocobolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Gulf Islands, B.C., Canada
Posts: 6,590
Default

Kitchen remodel


Quote:
Originally Posted by jiju1943 View Post
On the sanders, I have both Bosch and Porter-Cable 7336 and the Porter cable will work circles around the Bosch and my Bosch cost more. As mater fact I have Bosch, Porter-Cable, Dewalt, and Makita, Porter-Cable is the winner.
Sounds something like my lineup Jim, except I never buy Makita.
__________________
Just an old guy messin' with bits of wood...
...the friendliest thread on the site! Come on by.
http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/gulf-...uilding-34958/
cocobolo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 10:50 AM   #68
Member
 
cocobolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Gulf Islands, B.C., Canada
Posts: 6,590
Default

Kitchen remodel


Quote:
Originally Posted by leiona View Post
Ok coco, heres my loose knots..i had to enter them seperately so i could make the pics bigger
All right...now what you have shown in this photo isn't a loose knot. It's more what we would call an inclusion.

A loose knot is literally a section of a branch that was growing in the tree (that's what causes knots) which is - well - loose. You can physically move a loose knot.

Now it looks to me as though you have some bark with that inclusion, and to be perfectly honest, I don't know how that will fare over the years. That may well be a candidate for being filled with epoxy, as you can encase the entire thing that way.

I am sending you my email by pm.

I am hesitant to suggest you use epoxy until I can see a bigger picture.
__________________
Just an old guy messin' with bits of wood...
...the friendliest thread on the site! Come on by.
http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/gulf-...uilding-34958/
cocobolo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 11:02 AM   #69
Member
 
Ironlight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 701
Default

Kitchen remodel


Don't despair about the hood. Under cabinet hoods like that are always attached to the cabinet, not the wall. There should be a wire coming out of the wall and going into the back of the hood somewhere, perhaps with either a plate over where it goes in or a metal collar with two screws. I would do the following:

1) Turn the fan on, even if it's off the wall. You just want it running on low.
2) Turn off breakers at your panel one by one until the fan goes off. That's the one that controls the fan. Leave it off.
3) Disconnect the electrical wire from the vent assembly. Put wire nuts on the wire ends or if you don't have them, electrical tape.
4) Leave the breaker off during your renovation unless you discover that something important that you need was also on that circuit.
5) Disconnect the vent from any ducting that it may be attached to if it is vented to the outside.

You may want to actually keep that hood for the time being if it works OK. Hoods are expensive. You can always replace it later as they are pretty much a standard size.
Ironlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 12:25 PM   #70
wannabe carpenter
 
leiona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: west virginia
Posts: 152
Default

Kitchen remodel


thank you for that Ironlight, my uncle would not be able to make it so i was actually panicing.
to be honest, electrical scares me to death because getting shocked is the worst feeling, but as long as i cant get shocked with the breaker off, i can do it. i will be using electrical tape and i will tape it up good , but i wont be able to leave the breaker off as this house has multiple rooms on each breaker, a problem we deal with constantly, actually, as they tend to get overloaded very easily.
Do you think it would be ok just to leave the wires taped but loose there until i get another hood?

BTW future hubby is buying me a new hood thank goodness
__________________
It's a new dawn, it's a new day, it's a new kitchen for me!
leiona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 12:42 PM   #71
wannabe carpenter
 
leiona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: west virginia
Posts: 152
Default

Kitchen remodel


check out the stuff this guy does with wood...
Attached Images
 
__________________
It's a new dawn, it's a new day, it's a new kitchen for me!
leiona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 02:08 PM   #72
Member
 
Ironlight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 701
Default

Kitchen remodel


If you're going to be working around the exposed wires for any length of time, get some wire nuts for them from the hardware store and tape them on with electrical tape. In a pinch you can put a few layers of tape on the exposed copper.

And with the breaker off, you cannot get shocked. There is no power running to the circuit.

Being scared of electrical is healthy thing. It's always good to be scared, and respectful, of things that can kill you. That said, a few few "best practices" of working around electricity will eliminate serious risk. First and foremost of those, for non-professionals, is making sure the breaker is off when you're working on a circuit. I always turn the breaker off but then I also test the wires with a circuit tester. That is because once the light bulb of the fixture I was working on blew at the very moment I was throwing breakers, leading me to believe i had the right breaker. I did not. A shocking discovery. :P
Ironlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 03:01 PM   #73
Member
 
cocobolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Gulf Islands, B.C., Canada
Posts: 6,590
Default

Kitchen remodel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironlight View Post
If you're going to be working around the exposed wires for any length of time, get some wire nuts for them from the hardware store and tape them on with electrical tape. In a pinch you can put a few layers of tape on the exposed copper.

And with the breaker off, you cannot get shocked. There is no power running to the circuit.

Being scared of electrical is healthy thing. It's always good to be scared, and respectful, of things that can kill you. That said, a few few "best practices" of working around electricity will eliminate serious risk. First and foremost of those, for non-professionals, is making sure the breaker is off when you're working on a circuit. I always turn the breaker off but then I also test the wires with a circuit tester. That is because once the light bulb of the fixture I was working on blew at the very moment I was throwing breakers, leading me to believe i had the right breaker. I did not. A shocking discovery. :P
Excellent advice!
__________________
Just an old guy messin' with bits of wood...
...the friendliest thread on the site! Come on by.
http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/gulf-...uilding-34958/
cocobolo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 03:58 PM   #74
wannabe carpenter
 
leiona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: west virginia
Posts: 152
Default

Kitchen remodel


Miracle of all miracles, my mom showed up here with a handyman who does odd jobs, her buddy!!!!!!
He got the hood vent down for me lickety split and i now have someone to help me with the several other electrical things i need to do..move plugs, add a kitchen celing light and a can light above the counter, and sink that awful stove plug into the wall. as it is the stove plug and the receptacle are dangling in the breeze. i will document it all for newbies like me and for the amusement of all the pros

BTW...this may seem like a dumb question but remember...i've done none of this stuff before...why are my sawhorses diffrent heights?
Attached Thumbnails
Kitchen remodel-sawhorses.jpg  
__________________
It's a new dawn, it's a new day, it's a new kitchen for me!
leiona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 04:10 PM   #75
wannabe carpenter
 
leiona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: west virginia
Posts: 152
Default

Kitchen remodel


Oh and get this...handyman's gonna raise the back door for me so i can lay luann over the existing vinyl and set my terra cotta tiles on that WHEW! now lets hope it dosent cost me too much to have him.....don't worry , I told him all about my budget.

__________________
It's a new dawn, it's a new day, it's a new kitchen for me!
leiona is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kitchen Remodel ws450r Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 5 03-14-2012 11:14 PM
Kitchen remodel and venting joeh Plumbing 5 12-17-2011 06:38 PM
Unintended kitchen remodel Itsdanf Project Showcase 191 06-14-2010 11:23 AM
Kitchen remodel; ductwork pinkertonpv HVAC 3 02-18-2009 03:03 PM
Kitchen remodel, sink drain rework pinkertonpv Plumbing 3 02-18-2009 10:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.