DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Kitchen remodel

866K views 251 replies 17 participants last post by  DoyleSumrall 
#1 ·
I am about to begin a diy kitchen remodel and...well heres the ugly kitchen i have to work with...
along with the beautiful new slabs of wood i just bought to start on the island.

Attachments

See less See more
#3 ·
I am new to carpentry and I've only built a few things before so this remodel should be interesting..
if all goes well I will end up with a rustic, cottage style country kitchen.
will post pics as i go but, the real reason i started a thread is to get all the advice everyones willing to give..
thanks ahead for all your help!:thumbsup:

Attachments

#4 · (Edited)
ugly..the kitchen that is, not my Chloe!!
so now i need to seal and stain? (not sure).. these slabs. but with what and what to fill the holes in with. epoxy? the guy who sold me the slabs said tongue oil instead of stain, and my genius local (to the site) mentor, cocobolo is going to let me know what he thinks once he finds out the type of wood i'm using here
...which is yellow poplar btw:)

Attachments

#5 ·
Hi there...figured I better drop by and say hello at least.

I just posted a reply - of sorts - on my thread, so you might want to read that first. I'll be happy to walk you through any questions on your thread...it's what we do here.

I must say again how much I really do like those slabs. :thumbup:

Can I ask you how thick they are, and the width and length? Thanks.

#6 · (Edited)
oops ..i just posted a reply on your thread because i checked it first.. i wasnt sure if youd come to my party lol :wink:
the slabs..all four..are 2 1/2 in thick..5 feet long..and 32 in wide together at the widest part. they weigh about 50-60 lb apiece, each set has two pieces. ill use one set for a table and one for the island.
I will keep my rambling on this thread now that i know your visiting, i promise !

#12 ·
Of course I'll come to your party! :)