Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > Project Showcase

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-04-2011, 11:18 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Gutting and Remodeling an old small house.

Hi, My name is Dusty. I've been lurking around for a while now and decided to post up since I have something to share now. I'm an electrician by trade and recently switched careers and now work as an aircraft structures mechanic here in Oklahoma City.

My wife and I picked up this little investment property for a steal, basically nothing.. I'm not sure what year it was built, but it needs A TONE of help. It's going to be a few weeks before I have time to start working but it gives me a good amount of time to plan.

I'm going to attempt to save it, I have electrical experience and have done several remodels and additions. But nothing of this magnitude.

If I can save it, awesome. If not, then I still made a deal on the several acres of land.

The house basically needs entirely rebuilt, gutted, floors and exterior siding and walls..

The problems include: The floor floor joists are sagging, rotting and falling apart. The bottom plate on top of the foundation where the floor joists rest is rotten and needs replaced, the end plates for the floor joists needs replaced. The exterior wall studs where they attach to the floor needs replaced/repaired. And also the main support that runs the length of the house needs replaced..

Also, the crawl space needs finished properly with moisture barriers and proper ventilation.
and.. Everything interior wise, floors, drywall, cabinets, electrical and plumbing needs replaced.

I honestly only have a few thousand into the entire place, if I can get everything back on track under $25k, I will be doing very well as the value of the property is almost double that in liveable condition.