Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > Project Showcase

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2013, 01:08 PM   #2401
Dorf dude...
 
shumakerscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Grafenwoehr Germany
Posts: 1,742
Rewards Points: 2
Share |
Default

German House Rebuild


Quote:
Originally Posted by flamtap View Post
Marc mentioned this too, but there is someone in my area in NC who put up a large solar array, but he has to run it through a switch of some sort as well, which effectively turns off the solar array if the "grid" power goes out.

This is to prevent a utility worker being electrocuted while working on downed lines or something, not knowing that the solar panels are still connected and powered. I imagine there must be a transfer switch that will allow the panels to continue working in an outage, but he doesn't have one of those, yet.

Does your system have any sort of cut-off? Or a way to monitor just how much "juice" it's giving you? Anyways, it's very cool.

flamtap
The "Juice Monitor" is on order. I have no disconnect switch except for just unplugging it. In the future as I fine tune we'll see. I'm really starting to get some ideas. I would love to hear suggestions too. Thanks for following, dorf dude...

__________________
Today is only yesterdays tomorrow, Now get to work!
shumakerscott is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to shumakerscott For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (04-09-2013)
Old 04-13-2013, 02:32 PM   #2402
Dorf dude...
 
shumakerscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Grafenwoehr Germany
Posts: 1,742
Rewards Points: 2
Default

German House Rebuild


I went over to my Buddy's place today to get my brakes fixed and summer tire's mounted. A neighbor showed up and my friend said to me "Tell him what you just bought" Referring to my PV solar panels. I tried to explain and then just pulled up the web site. solar-pac.de He was going off, "No way" You can't just plug a solar array into a common outlet. There must be safety features. If the grid goes down and you are still making power then I could shock the sh!t out of the whole village and I would be legally liable if some one was to get hurt.!! I'm thinking Huh?? I would have a better chance of winning the Lottery. I'll take my chances. If power went out then we would be having a storm, no sun light. My peak output is 735 watts at this time, divide that between all the houses in the village. Man the mentality . At times I really have to wonder why Germany is the leader of Europe. It turns out my friend set me up. The neighbor is an Electrical Engineer ect... They don't do well with new ideas. Things must be done in the proper way and pay for all the inspections. Keep the machine alive. Not here with me!! Those of you that have followed this thread know that. I'm putting in more panels. Just plugged into a common outlet. Pushing my meter back one day at a time. The goal is to reach 0 usage. I can not make more than I use. I have no contract for selling back excess. Things get complicated then. They buy back at less than they sell anyway. No real advantage for all the extra work. I know people with huge systems that took out 20 year loans with the bank. On paper it will work out in 15-20 years. I'm over 50 so I will pay as I can afford it with cash. No loan. Thanks for letting me rant, dorf dude...
__________________
Today is only yesterdays tomorrow, Now get to work!

Last edited by shumakerscott; 04-13-2013 at 03:22 PM.
shumakerscott is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to shumakerscott For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (04-13-2013)
Old 04-13-2013, 05:56 PM   #2403
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,560
Rewards Points: 50
Default

German House Rebuild


Try unplugging it midday. (Careful, if it is producing the prongs are a danger.) Put a voltmeter to the prongs and see if you have any voltage. My guess is that you won't have any.

Grid tie only inverters are normally set up to separate the panels from the grid on power failure. Your panels contain some type of mini -inverter to sync with the grid, they probably shut off on loss of grid power.
If they donít shut down, Iíd get rid of them.


Grafenwoehr. Brings back memories of freezing in the cold, with tanks running all over the place.

Last edited by Oso954; 04-15-2013 at 10:43 AM.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 09:39 PM   #2404
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,169
Rewards Points: 94
Default

German House Rebuild


Oso954, would be even easier if he just had a kill switch like this http://www.amazon.com/Emergency-Butt...ref=pd_cp_hi_0 We actually got one for a gag, for one of our LAN coordinators, as a "Internet Disconnect Switch".

Schneider Electric has this http://products.schneider-electric.u...nect-switches/
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 12:06 AM   #2405
Dorf dude...
 
shumakerscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Grafenwoehr Germany
Posts: 1,742
Rewards Points: 2
Default

German House Rebuild


Try unplugging it midday. (Careful, if it is producing the prongs are a danger.) Put a voltmeter to the prongs and see if you have any voltage. My guess is that you won't have any.

I forgot to mention that I did unplug it and tested for voltage, 0 volts with the sun shining. A system like this goes against the long established institution. "You must hire a Meister" I was told that so many times during the complete house build. I just said Nope, I think I will try it myself. So far so good. Thanks for following, dorf dude...
__________________
Today is only yesterdays tomorrow, Now get to work!

Last edited by shumakerscott; 04-14-2013 at 12:13 AM.
shumakerscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 10:07 AM   #2406
Dorf dude...
 
shumakerscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Grafenwoehr Germany
Posts: 1,742
Rewards Points: 2
Default

German House Rebuild


We had our first nice sunny Spring Day. My power meter was turning backwards! Now that's what I'm talking about. 3 more panels in a week or so. That should get me doing alot better on overcast days and really kicking butt on sunny days. Here is a link to a Plug and Play Solar firm in the states. I know nothing about them but it is similar to what I installed. http://plugandplaysolarkits.com/ The key for Solar to work is to have an efficient house to start off with. Insulate and have low power consumption, Ditch the halogen lights and go LED. At the moment I miss the direct sunlight after about 4pm, I have a south east lay with the roof. I plan on adding panels down the road that are more south west and that should keep me covered. My next 3 will be on the same orientation as the present. This is fun! dorf dude...
__________________
Today is only yesterdays tomorrow, Now get to work!

Last edited by shumakerscott; 04-14-2013 at 11:01 AM.
shumakerscott is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to shumakerscott For This Useful Post:
avengerki (11-19-2013), gregzoll (04-14-2013)
Old 04-14-2013, 10:23 PM   #2407
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 49
Rewards Points: 0
Default

German House Rebuild


Quote:
Can I get an electric shock when I touch the grounded plug? No, the inverter turns on only when it is connected to the power grid.
The above is from the web site, translated to English by Google. I'd be curious to know if your panels will produce any power if your "grid" power goes out. Can you turn off your main breaker to test? This safety feature might be built-in.

flamtap
flamtap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 10:59 PM   #2408
Dorf dude...
 
shumakerscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Grafenwoehr Germany
Posts: 1,742
Rewards Points: 2
Default

German House Rebuild


Quote:
Originally Posted by flamtap View Post
The above is from the web site, translated to English by Google. I'd be curious to know if your panels will produce any power if your "grid" power goes out. Can you turn off your main breaker to test? This safety feature might be built-in.

flamtap
If the grid goes down I do not make power. I tested the voltage on the plug, 0 V. It requires grid power to make power. There is no way they could sell a system that would have Live voltage on a bare plug. The lawsuits would pile up. Now I might home brew something that would . I've got a couple ideas for the future. dorf dude...
__________________
Today is only yesterdays tomorrow, Now get to work!
shumakerscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 01:06 AM   #2409
Dorf dude...
 
shumakerscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Grafenwoehr Germany
Posts: 1,742
Rewards Points: 2
Default

German House Rebuild


At 6:30 am, dawn, I was making 12 watts, at 8:00am I'm making 295 watts and climbing and the meter is going backwards. Supposed to be sunny all day. dorf dude...
__________________
Today is only yesterdays tomorrow, Now get to work!
shumakerscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 12:58 PM   #2410
Dorf dude...
 
shumakerscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Grafenwoehr Germany
Posts: 1,742
Rewards Points: 2
Default

German House Rebuild


I made a total of 2.2kw today with a high of 772 watts. I could by a beer with that but not at a bar. With the additional panels this could really ramp up quick. I'm like a kid waiting for Christmas. dorf dude...
__________________
Today is only yesterdays tomorrow, Now get to work!
shumakerscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 11:26 PM   #2411
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

German House Rebuild


Quote:
Originally Posted by shumakerscott View Post
I made a total of 2.2kw today with a high of 772 watts. I could by a beer with that but not at a bar. With the additional panels this could really ramp up quick. I'm like a kid waiting for Christmas. dorf dude...
Bonjour DD.,

Just wait for few more days then the cost will start recovering so you should have few nice days to get it running what ya need it.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 12:48 AM   #2412
Architectural Sculptor
 
RWolff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA, Midwest
Posts: 765
Rewards Points: 0
Default

German House Rebuild


After reading the parts about your LED lights, I decided to try one, wow, they work great!
I bought a LightKiwi PAR20 50 watt equiv. supposed to use 6 watts, on Amazon.com and put it in the track light over my computer desk, that baby is bright!
I bought 3 more and put 2 of them in the window lamps at my gallery building which I leave on 24/7.
They replaced 2 CFL's that were using about 52 watts, those CFL's tend to burn out. I'm saving about 40 watts an hour now but when I get some track lights for the gallery I'll definitely use these LED bulbs, probably the PAR30 size though.

RWolff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 12:33 PM   #2413
Dorf dude...
 
shumakerscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Grafenwoehr Germany
Posts: 1,742
Rewards Points: 2
Default

German House Rebuild


Way to go on the LED's. It is important to reduce the load through out the house. Lights are a key area that power can be saved. I just switched out an outside Halogen flood light for a 10 watt LED. My dog would always trip the motion sensor at night. Light on, sucking power. I've been using LED's for 2 1/2 years and not one failure. Cfl's I've had 3 die already. Also things that are on standby take a look at. I have a couple more things to work on in that area. You add up the watts and then multiply that over a month or a year. Huge. I think I might be getting my first commission from the solar panel company. A friend wants to buy a system. I will get a bit if he does. My power meter is still behind the starting point from 6:30 am yesterday morning. Not much sun at all today but the rest of the week is looking good. Thanks for following, dorf dude...
__________________
Today is only yesterdays tomorrow, Now get to work!

Last edited by shumakerscott; 04-16-2013 at 01:56 PM.
shumakerscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 01:19 PM   #2414
Dorf dude...
 
shumakerscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Grafenwoehr Germany
Posts: 1,742
Rewards Points: 2
Default

German House Rebuild


My power meter is behind where it was 3 days ago I have a split meter that switches at 10pm and back at 6am. I have 2 rates, day and night. I don't kick back the night one of course. Tonight I moved and mounted the solar hot water frames. I will talk to a local firm about getting them hooked up. I don't do plumbing per say. Here are a couple pic's, new LED spot light, 30 times more efficient than the old one. And a pic of the roof solar. dorf dude...
Attached Thumbnails
German House Rebuild-img_0013.jpg   German House Rebuild-img_0014.jpg  
__________________
Today is only yesterdays tomorrow, Now get to work!
shumakerscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 01:39 PM   #2415
Dorf dude...
 
shumakerscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Grafenwoehr Germany
Posts: 1,742
Rewards Points: 2
Default

German House Rebuild


I got the 2nd 3 sets of brackets mounted. Now I only need a couple people to help me get the panels up on the roof. I'm thinking about 2 more panels for the back side of the roof. I stop making real power after about 3:30pm or so. 2 panels on the back side would allow me to catch the last few hours of sun light. I think it would be worth it in the long run. dorf dude...
Attached Thumbnails
German House Rebuild-img_0015.jpg  

__________________
Today is only yesterdays tomorrow, Now get to work!
shumakerscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cape Cod Style House Attic/Crawl Space Insulation Help Danielg Insulation 24 05-21-2012 08:20 AM
Connecting main house to guest house... hlavine Building & Construction 31 03-28-2012 09:04 AM
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 04:45 AM
German House shumakerscott Project Showcase 10 11-28-2010 12:09 PM
Complete AC installation in Old Capitol Hill Row House jacko10 HVAC 0 09-18-2007 05:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.