Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > Project Showcase

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-28-2010, 07:30 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 330
Rewards Points: 250
Default

First Home, Many Projects


1. How?
2. Those are the energy saving ones?
3. Already do.
4. How do I know? The house was built in 1977.
5. I'm not sure if I have one, all I know is the thermostat is an old one that has a little adjuster leveler on the side, ha!

Dinggus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 12:26 PM   #17
Custom User Title
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 353
Rewards Points: 252
Default

First Home, Many Projects


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dinggus View Post
1. How?
2. Those are the energy saving ones?
3. Already do.
4. How do I know? The house was built in 1977.
5. I'm not sure if I have one, all I know is the thermostat is an old one that has a little adjuster leveler on the side, ha!
1. Real easy: http://www.ehow.com/how_4435452_adju...er-heater.html
2.Yes, the funny looking ones.
3. You can also plug things into power strips and just turn them completely off when you aren't using them. That will stop the "phantom" power loss.
no1hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 05:24 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 330
Rewards Points: 250
Default

First Home, Many Projects


Thanks, I was thinking about going that route, only thing I'd need to be actually plugged in the living room is the DVR. My Man Cave would just need modem, router, and computer to be plugged in. Everything else in my house could just use a power strip.

The light bulbs I bought are like twist looking ones. I did have a question about 4 light bulb fan, if I only have 1 screwed in, would the 3 empty ones still draw power?
Dinggus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 11:45 AM   #19
Custom User Title
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 353
Rewards Points: 252
Default

First Home, Many Projects


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dinggus View Post
Thanks, I was thinking about going that route, only thing I'd need to be actually plugged in the living room is the DVR. My Man Cave would just need modem, router, and computer to be plugged in. Everything else in my house could just use a power strip.

The light bulbs I bought are like twist looking ones. I did have a question about 4 light bulb fan, if I only have 1 screwed in, would the 3 empty ones still draw power?
It will not.
no1hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 06:55 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 330
Rewards Points: 250
Default

First Home, Many Projects


I was just making sure. Also would an outlet controlled by a light switch draw power if it's not switched on? And if I upgrade my thermostat to a new one would that help as well for my electricity bill? This is what I have.

Dinggus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 08:35 AM   #21
Custom User Title
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 353
Rewards Points: 252
Default

First Home, Many Projects


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dinggus View Post
I was just making sure. Also would an outlet controlled by a light switch draw power if it's not switched on? And if I upgrade my thermostat to a new one would that help as well for my electricity bill? This is what I have.


The outlet will not draw power if the switch is off. The circuit is not complete until it is turned on.

You can save power if you install a programmable thermostat. That way you can set it so it turns the the heat/AC when you aren't actually home. They are pretty cheap and easy to install.
no1hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 08:38 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 330
Rewards Points: 250
Default

First Home, Many Projects


Thanks for the answer, is there a way I can hook up another outlet to a switch? I like that idea of being about to cut power on or off.

So a thermostat advantage is only to time?
Dinggus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 10:50 AM   #23
Custom User Title
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 353
Rewards Points: 252
Default

First Home, Many Projects


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dinggus View Post
Thanks for the answer, is there a way I can hook up another outlet to a switch? I like that idea of being about to cut power on or off.

So a thermostat advantage is only to time?
You can probably hook up another outlet to a switch or add another switch but I can't comment on it much more than that. I have very limited knowledge on running wires.

I believe that is one of the biggest advantages with a new thermostat. Perhaps newer models can check room temperatures better. I know mine isn't very accurate and I'll be changing mine out before it gets too cold.
no1hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 03:45 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 330
Rewards Points: 250
Default

First Home, Many Projects


Okay thanks! Well supposedly our house is 97 degree's very time.
Dinggus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 08:02 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 330
Rewards Points: 250
Default

First Home, Many Projects


I also want to look at getting products that are Energy Star Qualified, correct?

http://www.lowes.com/pd_225410-37422...oduct_rating|0

Or would this be fine, even thought it's not Energy Star Qualified.

http://www.lowes.com/pd_39500-74493-RTH6300B1005_4294821951_4294937087?productId=31344 43&Ns=p_product_rating|0&pl=1&currentURL=/pl_Programmable%2BThermostats_4294821951_429493708 7_?Ns=p_product_rating|0

Last edited by Dinggus; 09-03-2010 at 08:14 PM.
Dinggus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 03:17 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 330
Rewards Points: 250
Default

First Home, Many Projects


Well, I'm still replying in hopes people help. I ended up buying this:

http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...ctId=202024248

The home depot clerk told me the wires will be labeled, and just remember what their label was and connect it to the new thermostat. Here's the issue, there are no labels on mine. The instructions say ignore wire colors, there should be a identification next to the terminal screw which I do not see.

Edit: Guess there are 2 face plates to the mount, removed it and now I got it to work!'



Last edited by Dinggus; 09-04-2010 at 04:19 PM.
Dinggus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 11:51 AM   #27
Custom User Title
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 353
Rewards Points: 252
Default

First Home, Many Projects


Looks good. I'd say anything you get would be an improvement over your old one.
no1hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 12:24 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 330
Rewards Points: 250
Default

First Home, Many Projects


Yeah. It's nice, I'm using the energystar setting what they recommend for summer. Once I'm done working on my truck
I plan on checking out my water heater to see how old it is.
Dinggus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 10:55 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 4,294
Rewards Points: 2,124
Default

First Home, Many Projects


My heat bill was $131 a month, year round on the budget plan with the gas company.

I did the following and lowered it to $61 a month, year round.

1. Sealed the attic and added cellulose insulation from R-19 to about R-58.
2. Sealed the seams on all exposed heat ducts and furnace.
3. Replaced several older windows. Still have 5 to go.
4. Replaced drafty front door.
5. Gaskets on all electrical outlets in walls.
6. Sealed and insulated rim joists in basement.
7. Installed a draft blocker in the dryer vent to keep cold air from coming in. That made a huge difference. There used to be cold air flowing in from the dryer vent.
8. Still have to insulate the heat ducts that have been sealed.

There are more things, but I can't think of them right now.

I won't use CFL bulbs in my house, but I noticed a drop in my electric bill when I plugged all of of my computer stuff into a power strip and turn the power to it off every night and when I'm not using it during the day.

During the colder months, I turn the dial down a little bit in my refrigerator.

The navy blue paint on your walls looks great.
gma2rjc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 11:10 AM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 330
Rewards Points: 250
Default

First Home, Many Projects


$61! I'm hoping that most of the bill was due to a turn-on fee since it was my first bill.

1. How do I know if my attic is sealed and if I need insulation? The wife said when she looked up there, it was insulated, but when we first moved in, the house would get up to like 97 degrees.
2. What do you use to seal these heat ducts?
3. I've been told my windows are the energystar ones, double layered?

4. Couldn't I just buy the weatherstrips?
5. What's a gasket?
6. Don't have a basement.
7. Where did you get this draft blocker?
8. Heat ducts are the air vents?

Why won't you use the CFL bulbs? I plan on buying this:

I think I'll find it very useful, in the living room all I need on is the DVR so our shows record. In my Man Cave, all I need on is my internet and computer. The xbox, TV, printer, paper shredder can be plugged into this.



Thanks, I we like them as well. Once we fill the living room up some more, I'll take some updated photo's.

Dinggus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need advice on remodeling/renovating a prefab (mobile) home countrylifemom Remodeling 50 08-09-2014 06:56 AM
Condensation on fiberglass window frame creamaster General DIY Discussions 11 01-05-2012 07:42 PM
History of Lomonaco's Iron Concepts & Home Decor John Lomonaco Introductions 0 11-08-2009 10:39 AM
How to optimize thermostat settings (2 heating systems same home) rossl56 HVAC 1 11-26-2008 03:39 AM
Insulateing a Home Rifeman Building & Construction 9 08-31-2007 04:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.