Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > Project Showcase

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-30-2008, 02:34 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Share |
Default

Coaxial install.


Here is some pics of my almost completed coaxial setup.
Attached Thumbnails
Coaxial install.-100_4934.jpg   Coaxial install.-100_4937.jpg   Coaxial install.-100_4936.jpg   Coaxial install.-100_4935.jpg  

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 06:07 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Coaxial install.


Where do those grounds go? Is that a power injector in the lower left?


Last edited by jerryh3; 11-30-2008 at 06:09 AM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 10:54 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Coaxial install.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
Where do those grounds go? Is that a power injector in the lower left?

The grounds head back to the closest point of ground, the ground bus bar.

Lower left is a power supply for the amplifier, its plugged in to a surge protecting receptacle, which is protected by a gfci to meet code.


Its almost done, that orange cable in the lower right picture is the soon to be hooked up rg/11Q

Last edited by rgsgww; 11-30-2008 at 10:56 AM.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 11:11 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Coaxial install.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
The grounds head back to the closest point of ground, the ground bus bar.

Lower left is a power supply for the amplifier, its plugged in to a surge protecting receptacle, which is protected by a gfci to meet code.


Its almost done, that orange cable in the lower right picture is the soon to be hooked up rg/11Q
Is the two way splitter going to a cable modem? Do you have a schematic for the entire system?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 12:15 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Coaxial install.


Whats with all the redundant grounding? The outer conductive shield of coax needs to be grounded as close to the point of cable entrance as practicable, most likely your cable supplier already did that outside at the demarc location.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 01:59 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Coaxial install.


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Whats with all the redundant grounding? The outer conductive shield of coax needs to be grounded as close to the point of cable entrance as practicable, most likely your cable supplier already did that outside at the demarc location.

The coaxial is grounded with a ground block (as seen in one of the pictures)
It is burial and enters the structure from the inside.

I'm kind of a ground fanatic...I might just remove all of the unnecessary grounds...they are in the way.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 02:09 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Coaxial install.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
Is the two way splitter going to a cable modem? Do you have a schematic for the entire system?

Yes, and I'm going to make one right now.
Attached Thumbnails
Coaxial install.-new-bitmap-image-9-.jpg  
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 03:34 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Coaxial install.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
Yes, and I'm going to make one right now.
Why the isolator? Is that a Holland?

Last edited by jerryh3; 11-30-2008 at 03:43 PM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 05:21 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Coaxial install.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
Why the isolator? Is that a Holland?

I got bad 60hz interference (you know, the rolling bars or wavy picture) on some channels, I checked the ground in case that was it.

Its all viewsonics equipment except for the lightning arrestor, thats hyperlink technologies.

Link about the isolator

http://www.broadbandamps.com/Product...ndIsolator.htm
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 10:49 PM   #10
Kyle Emerick
 
kemerick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vista, CA
Posts: 106
Default

Coaxial install.


You must have a very nice image on your screens... I am jealous.
__________________
My constant project is my home which was built in 1947. We have remodeled almost all of it and added 1000 square foot in 2007. Lars Construction got me up to drywall and I did the rest.
kemerick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 07:21 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Coaxial install.


Quote:
Originally Posted by kemerick View Post
You must have a very nice image on your screens... I am jealous.
Not the best though...Some improvement with a new coax drop. Could be better.

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone install a tin/copper style ceiling? flashme18 Remodeling 7 07-19-2009 07:56 AM
When to install tile flooring? MT Stringer Remodeling 4 10-28-2008 08:49 PM
Preparing to install Kerdi on bathtub surround DIY-Renovator Flooring 18 07-17-2008 10:42 AM
Can I install 3/4" HW on top of the rolled floor membrane there now? davevarga Flooring 3 03-09-2008 10:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.