Basement Subfloor Error? - Project Showcase - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > Project Showcase

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2011, 12:57 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Basement Subfloor Error?


So I started laying the subfloor down in my basement, when it dawned on me that I didn't leave an expansion gap around the perimeter of the room.. I already have the subfloor screwed down with tapcons also... Here is a picture:




What do you guys suggest I do?? Think I'll be OK without the expansion gap, as it's in the basement, and should stay relatively one temperature all the time.. Or should I somehow shorten the subfloor up?

Advertisement

casper129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 02:38 AM   #2
Dorf dude...
 
shumakerscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Grafenwoehr Germany
Posts: 1,767
Rewards Points: 1,050
Default

Basement Subfloor Error?


If you only have to unscrew it then pull it up and leave a small gap. You will regret it if you don't. If you don't want to unscrew it then it's a great excuse to buy a Fein Multimaster! dorf dude...

Advertisement

__________________
Today is only yesterdays tomorrow, Now get to work!
shumakerscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 02:11 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 460
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Basement Subfloor Error?


I would just rent a jam saw and use it on the floor instead of the wall and be done with it. Save time money and the headache of having to remove and re-install the flooring
fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 02:35 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Basement Subfloor Error?


^ Thanks for that tip! I already took up the few sheets I had screwed down, and the rest that I didn't and trimmed them with circular saw, and just moved over what I could...

I never even knew of a jamb saw... I may have to look into getting one for the rest of the basement. I'm sure I could use it somewhere
casper129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
basement causing suction on basment door BlueBSH HVAC 3 06-08-2010 03:26 PM
Basement Cooling BTU requirements? neilt HVAC 5 05-29-2010 04:26 AM
Remodeling basement: Moist foundation gordonf238 Building & Construction 8 04-25-2010 07:50 PM
Basement Renovation Project Howdy Electrical 6 03-13-2008 12:07 PM
Basement - need to bust up about 1 ft deeper FallenAngel Building & Construction 7 08-15-2007 10:09 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts