Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > Project Showcase

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2013, 12:59 AM   #31
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,189
Share |
Default

Basement redo - 2013


Another update!


Sub panel, lighting and electrical is mostly done:





Finally retired my old trusty 1960's outlet that I never bothered putting a switch plate on:



Next project once all this is done is to organize the cabling behind the server rack.

Got rid of the extension cord for my fibre internet:


All neat and labeled!



Server rack feeder circuits:


Cable management system done on the front, now to do the back:



Also installed the door, forgot to take a pic of that, I'll post it next update.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 07:27 AM   #32
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 647
Default

Basement redo - 2013


Looks good. A few questions.

1.
Are you putting a surge on your main panel?
http://www.amazon.com/Cutler-Hammer-.../dp/B005C5NQTA

2.
Do you have a HVAC run to the server room?

3.
What are you running that you need a server room? Feel free to PM me about it, I"m in the same field.
__________________
Basement Demo started Jan 2012:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Bathroom demo started Feb 2013:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Trucon01 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 01:27 PM   #33
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,189
Default

Basement redo - 2013


I want to put a surge actually, I just want to find an inline one, all the ones seem to simply rely on the fact that electricity takes the path of least resistance, it does not actually cut off power. So some of the surge will still make it to the equipment. Do they make inline ones that work like the power bars? If there's a surge it will trip, cutting all power to the panel. That's what I'd like to put.

That room will have it's own hvac, basically I will suck air from the crawlspace under the garage (there's zero air circulation there, so it will kill two birds with one stone) and it will then be pushed into the cold aisle. The hot isle will have air sucked out and put somewhere else in the house that has an air path to the garage crawlspace. I might just put it in the main crawlspace. The entrance to the other crawlspace is at the other end.

I may also make this air go through a HRV type system so I recycle the air but retain the heat. In summer it may bypass the HRV if the outside air is cooler than inside. This will be controlled by an arduino board and several dampers. Wont be doing the hvac this year though, but the two outside vents are installed so if I do end up wanting to do it throughout the year, at least they're there. The main reason for the HRV would be to ensure that I'm always exhausting the hot aisle air outside, as it may contain a small amount of hydrogen from the batteries charging.

This stuff mostly just runs stuff around the house. Home automation server, file server, VM server etc... I plan to put some upgrades though, I want more VM power so I can start playing around in more serious lab environments and keep my skills up to par. The last version of Windows I touched was XP and server 2003 so I'll want to learn the latest ones to stay ahead in case I lose my job and need to be job searching. Mostly, this is just hobby stuff. I do lot of coding as well and it requires some test environments, which I can do with VMs.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 04:33 PM   #34
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,153
Default

Basement redo - 2013


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
This stuff mostly just runs stuff around the house. Home automation server, file server, VM server etc... I plan to put some upgrades though, I want more VM power so I can start playing around in more serious lab environments and keep my skills up to par.
It seems pretty-robust and overkill just for those things, but most of the things "we" [people on this site] do is for the fun of "because I can," not always necessity.

Quote:
The last version of Windows I touched was XP and server 2003 so I'll want to learn the latest ones to stay ahead in case I lose my job and need to be job searching. Mostly, this is just hobby stuff. I do lot of coding as well and it requires some test environments, which I can do with VMs.
Get ready to be confused. Moving to Windows 8.1+ with having skipped over Vista and 7 will be more than slightly frustrating. It all seems to operate in the same way, but is different enough to make it take forever to do something. With XP support ending in April, just about every company is trying to be off the XP/2003 platform before support officially ends. My systems are all W7/2008R2, and I'm still confused by 8.1 and Server 2012.
hyunelan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 07:02 PM   #35
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,189
Default

Basement redo - 2013


Yeah I like to go overkill with stuff. Even debating on running a couple 30A 120/240 twistlock plugs now. Will be hard to do so in the future if I start to load equipment in that rack.


I did play slightly with Vista/7/8 and slightly with server 2008. Definitely lots of changes. 8 is a huge joke too. Server 2012 is also a joke from what heard, Metro, on a server?!? MS and Rob Ford have some things in common. They're both on crack.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 02:37 AM   #36
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,189
Default

Basement redo - 2013


And the paint is done!

Some spots could use a touch up though, but I'll leave that for the end, if I feel like it. :p Need to get a small paintbrush for some of those.






Side:



Back:










Tomorrow I should be good to install the two PDUs and start on the DC wiring. Running a full backup of my server environment right now to prep for the shut down when I move the inverter-charger. The main server is kinda sketchy when it comes to being shut down, it usually wont come back up on it's own without replacing a couple drives. Once this basement project is settled I will want to start looking at migrating over to my new storage box. I should have enough UPS capacity for it and the extra batteries will make up for the extra load in terms of run time.

The big thing too is now I'll be able to organize the cables better, that will be another project for later, but I'll do the power right away as to avoid having to shut down the main server again.

The board above the file cabinet will have the power meter for the UPS, as well as any misc button/displays I choose to add in the future. I'm also going to get two 100a battery switches so I can isolate the batteries for maintenance. I'll have two banks basically, so I can take one offline and pull the batteries out to maintain. Because of how tight they will fit in the shelves I don't think I'll be able to maintain them in place.

Still need to decide what to do about the acid mitigation, those trays are kinda pricy. Might go with battery boxes, I'll have to buy 4 of them and make sure they fit properly. Not really that worried about a leak, these batteries are designed to be bounced around in boats and RVs, but I figure better safe than sorry.


As for the rest of the basement I just have a small section of dricore left, once I'm done with the server stuff I'll cleanup all the junk I have lying around from working on the server stuff, and finish it off and then clean up and it will more or less complete this project for now. Next year or when I have the money I'll get it spray foamed and drywalled. At some point probably install a real floor too. Was going to paint/varnish the dricore but think I'll just leave it as is and put a proper floor later.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 10:07 PM   #37
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,189
Default

Basement redo - 2013


Another update on the server room.

I have a small chunk of dricore to do and I'll be "done" this project. The rest will be another phase that I'll do later. Need to save up more cash. I have some cleaning up to do but everything is more or less done in the server room. The inverter-charger has been moved to it's new and permanent location.

Both battery banks online:





Inverter in the new rack:



Power cable management done and everything plugged into proper PDU:





Full view:



Future plan is to add hvac to that room to properly vent out hydrogen from the batteries. I have a hydrogen sensor and I really don't think I'm producing enough to be an issue (4 12v 100ah batteries total) but better safe than sorry. The room will also be sealed up and insulated once the hvac is added, to keep the noise in.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 01:04 AM   #38
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,189
Default

Basement redo - 2013


Between taking a break around Christmas, and just generally having lot of work hours, took me a while to get started again, but I'm finally done all of the dricore.






Tomorrow I'm going to clean everything up and reorganize tools etc and put shelves back up. Will also tapcon the perimeter and any other areas that are too bouncy.

This mostly completes this phase. The ultamate goal was rough in, and a proper walkable surface that does not turn my socks black, so that has been achieved. I have no immediate plans for what I do next, but probably electrical and spray foam. Probably next year some time. I have other projects I want to move on to for now.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 10:56 PM   #39
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,189
Default

Basement redo - 2013


Today I just finished up fastning the drycore in the spots that are bouncy. I was frustingly using tapcons (those things are such a pain) and even with my new impact drill, it's a pain since I'd say 2/3 of them just break half way through.

Then I decided to try a technique that a guy at Home Depot told me about. I was skeptical, but it works!

Drill a hole like you normally would, take a few pieces of metal wire (I was using 2) and stick them in the hole, then put in a framing nail, and hammer it in! It totally works! From now on this is what I'm doing whenever I have to fasten something to concrete, where a powder actuated hammer may not be viable.

This pretty much completes this phase, I will move on to other projects now, and continue on this in a year or so. I'd say the worse is done though, the rest is mostly finishing. I may actually get some stuff done by a contractor, such as the drywall and plastering, just so it goes faster.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 10:33 AM   #40
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,153
Default

Basement redo - 2013


I'm surprised you had issues with the Tapcons. I never had problems with them when I did my basement over the past 2 years. As long as I drilled the hole deep enough they went right in. I used my DeWalt hammer drill to make the hole (using provided Tapcon bit), and my little 13v corldess Hitachi impact driver to set the 3" Tapcons home.
hyunelan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 12:38 PM   #41
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,189
Default

Basement redo - 2013


Oh wow, when I used my dewalt hammer drill it would take like 5-10 minutes per hole, was brutal. The bit would often start to loosen as well so I was always having to retighten the chuck. Bought a Bosh Bulldog with SDS bit and it was about 1-2 sec per hole. Best drill purchase ever. I only used it for a few jobs, but those few jobs took 1/10 of the time it would have normally taken. I'd drill as far as the bit can go (about an inch more than the tapcon). The tapcons had about a 2/3 failure rate. When I used a regular drill to drive them often it would just stop half way and cause the drill to strip the head. I bought an impact, it worked better, but then instead of staying stuck, they just break.

The nails + wire method worked incredibly well, I wish I had tried that from the very beginning! I bent a nail by accident and tried to pull it out, and was unable to, so it is a very strong fit too.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 01:01 PM   #42
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: VA, MD, DC
Posts: 5,065
Default

Basement redo - 2013


Looking good!!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 12:54 PM   #43
[URL=http://s21.photobuck
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Alaksa
Posts: 16
Default

Basement redo - 2013


nice work
csmurray1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement stair redo NoleGeoGirl Flooring 1 09-16-2012 07:49 AM
what's the consequences of a well insulated basement diy001 Building & Construction 1 06-12-2011 01:13 AM
Thoughts and ideas basement finishing and HVAC creamaster HVAC 1 03-10-2010 07:46 PM
Basement Renovation Project Howdy Electrical 6 03-13-2008 11:07 AM
layout, basement redo yellow.shoes Remodeling 1 10-20-2004 08:04 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.