Working Garbage Disposal Required For Dishwasher - Appliances - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-29-2009, 09:54 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 25

Working Garbage Disposal Required for Dishwasher

I recently purchased a new house and I want to replace the dishwasher. Currently the garbage disposal does not work. Do I need to have a working garbage disposal in order to use the dishwasher? I'm sorry I know its a dumb question but this is my first home and I am still a newbie to repairs.

Advertisement

benchmarkman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 10:19 PM   #2
DIY Hack

Rewards Points: 500

Not really....it doesn't need to work, but you'll want to put a basket strainer in the sink for sure. if you get build-up in the disposal, the dishwasher won't drain properly. If you are going to install a new dishwasher anyway, do yourself a favor and pop a new dispoal in. they are cheap and easy to install, especially when you already have the electric and plumbing for it

Advertisement

Old 09-30-2009, 06:51 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 25

Thanks for the reply. I really don't want to replace both at once because if I break something I don't want to have to figure out if its the dishwasher or garbage disposal I messed up. It would just be simplier to troubleshoot. I also don't want to spend the money right now. I like doing things in steps.

Why exactly does the dishwasher connect to the garbage disposal and how is it used?

Thanks
benchmarkman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 01:33 AM   #4

Rewards Points: 75

since the the garbage disposal essentially works as a drain for the dishwasher it wouldnt have to be working. just make sure you rinse all your dishes before putting them in the dishwasher.
GetYourShineBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 08:50 AM   #5
DIY Hack

Rewards Points: 500

Quote: