Wiring For Electric Range (and A Little Plumbing Too) - Appliances - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2010, 03:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MI's Western UP
Posts: 599
Rewards Points: 500
Default

wiring for electric range (and a little plumbing too)


I have not yet purchased my new oven, but I want to get the electrical ready.

My understanding is I need #6 (or maybe just #8) gauge wiring with 2 hots a neutral and a ground, and a 4 prong outlet with 1 round and 3 vertical prongs. and a 50 amp breaker.

I plan on also running new water and a drain line for the dishwasher and layndry washer going on the same wall. is there a minimum distance between these water using apliances and a the high amperage outlet?

Are these outlets generally placed up a bit higher to keep them dry?

Advertisement


Last edited by forresth; 09-17-2010 at 03:20 PM.
forresth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 05:30 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wiring for electric range (and a little plumbing too)


#6 wire for 50 amp

no separation requirements


most ovens have a recessed area in the lower rear to allow for the plug so it doesn't keep the oven away from the wall. Last one I remember, it seems like I had to place the recep as low as I could.

hang on for a few of the other guys that do resi work. In commercial, I don't deal with a lot of oven receps such as this.

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nap For This Useful Post:
forresth (09-19-2010)
Old 09-19-2010, 12:25 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MI's Western UP
Posts: 599
Rewards Points: 500
Default

wiring for electric range (and a little plumbing too)


I took a peak behind some oven at the store. you are right, they all had large recess at the bottom.
forresth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 10:09 AM   #4
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,300
Rewards Points: 2,178
Default

wiring for electric range (and a little plumbing too)


My electric wall ovens (one is an Advantium and one is a GE 30 inch wide) were designed to be hard wired to a J Box, no wall plug. That may have been an option, don't know, but in any case I directly wired both of them to their own circuits. Both were 220V with 120V controls. The Advantium required 30A, hence #10 wire, while the oven only required 20A (#12 wire). My cooktop was 40A, hence required #8 wire, also no plug.

I believe some of the European models do not use 120V controls, hence would only require two hots and a ground. I suggest you buy your oven first, then figure out what type of wiring you need.
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 11:54 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MI's Western UP
Posts: 599
Rewards Points: 500
Default

wiring for electric range (and a little plumbing too)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Holzman View Post
My electric wall ovens (one is an Advantium and one is a GE 30 inch wide) were designed to be hard wired to a J Box, no wall plug. That may have been an option, don't know, but in any case I directly wired both of them to their own circuits. Both were 220V with 120V controls. The Advantium required 30A, hence #10 wire, while the oven only required 20A (#12 wire). My cooktop was 40A, hence required #8 wire, also no plug.

I believe some of the European models do not use 120V controls, hence would only require two hots and a ground. I suggest you buy your oven first, then figure out what type of wiring you need.
pretty sure ranges come without a plug so you can get the correct plug for your outlet. Makes sense that a wall oven could be different because they are a bit more permanent. In general, I like building for the future. In this case, that means I won't have to rerun all new wires when the upcomming cheap oven dies at the most inoppertune time. I did pick up some #6 4 wire and a 4 way range outlet, but I started thinking "why not run a sub pannel if you want to run a 50 amp circut anyways, the old box is running out of space for all these dedicated circuts anyways" so I'll have to look into that aspect now.
forresth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 05:43 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 77
Default

wiring for electric range (and a little plumbing too)


I would run a white wire because the 120 v. clock and light need a N. and if you change out the range later its there.

Advertisement

jerzeedivr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTR Microwave -> Range hood wiring A for Effort Electrical 2 07-31-2010 11:00 AM
Aluminum Wiring for Range bob22 Electrical 3 07-24-2010 08:38 AM
New Range Wiring c086473 Electrical 4 03-11-2008 09:50 PM
Electric Range Wiring manhattan42 Electrical 11 07-05-2006 06:03 PM
Range Wiring merlin Electrical 1 11-20-2005 12:00 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts