Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-14-2007, 10:39 AM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Whirlpool refrig. problem


More than likely the control board. I got mine last night, swapped it out and all was good again.

msoukup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 12:39 PM   #32
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Whirlpool refrig. problem


I need some direction on removing the bad controller. How do I go about it?
ronnie5655 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 01:31 PM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Whirlpool refrig. problem


It's pretty easy, there are 5 or 6 screws holding on a cardboard backing on the back of the fridge, once that is off you can see a small white box on the bottom left side. It flips open and there is the board, it has 3 electrical wire connections going into it and then there was a small tab that was holding it in place. I went in blind and figured it out under a minute, if it is not the same as my fridge I'm sure you could figure it out easy enough.
msoukup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 01:42 PM   #34
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Whirlpool refrig. problem


Thanks...now I just need to buy the part and give it a go...
ronnie5655 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 09:40 PM   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Whirlpool refrig. problem


Hello, just wanted to update you guys on the Whirlpool refrigerator problem. After replacing the control board not twice, but three times, I finally got mad and fussed at Whirlpool. A few days later, they called me and said they were going to send a repair technician on their nickel, to look into the problem. The repair tech said this is a common problem with this refrigerator and said they have been told the cause may be due to a voltage spike coming into the board as a result of a bundle of wires running overtop or near the water solenoid. The theory is that when the water solenoid kicks in, the magnetic field induces a small current through the bundle of wires and these wires run straight over into the control board. He tied the wire bundle away from the solenoid with a plastic zip tie and replaced the control board. So far, so good. Only time will tell, but you all might want to try tying those wires up away from the solenoid a few inches.
howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2007, 10:02 AM   #36
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Whirlpool refrig. problem


I got a replacement board locally. It looked a little different than the orginal. I got online before installing it, thinking I had ordered the wrong part number.
My fridge is model#GD5RHAXNT00....The part number I got is 2304095. The original part had a completely different number. Every website I went to to cross check the numbers gave me a different part number. Finally out of frustration I snapped the new part in and it fixed it. So...hope it helps.
ronnie5655 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2007, 06:29 PM   #37
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Whirlpool refrig. problem


No kidding there's a timer on this board.. mine just crapped out too! THANK YOU ALL a ton for clearly IDing the problem and giving the fix as well. Ordered up a board from an ebay supplier (crosses fingers) and in the mean time, I yanked all the bulbs and will replace them all--in case it was a bulb blowing that blew the board.

FWIW, I yanked the board and found a clear burn on the PC board, on the bottom of the board under the relay nearest the top, lower left pad I think it was.

I'll post again when I swap the board. GD5SHAXNB Whirlpool Gold, 2 1/2 years old.
aquatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2007, 11:24 PM   #38
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Whirlpool refrig. problem


I also ran into the same issues with my 1 year old Whirlpool lights flickering and the relay buzzing on the the control board. I removed the control board... soldered a jumper wire across the burnt spot on the PC board ( Q6 ) and installed the board..... the lights still would not work and the display would go out if you put a bulb back in. I traced out the wiring for the lights and found a very simple repair. if you clip the yellow wire from pc control board 10 pin connector and tap into the pin that has 2 black wires coming into one pin on the same connector this will supply power directly to the door switch and the lights will work again along with the display..... i have had no problems since..... and was a lot cheaper to repair then buy a new board that likely wont last either.
Robert Geissler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2007, 11:30 PM   #39
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Whirlpool refrig. problem


[quote=jsi;31171]Is there schematic diagram for the main control board (#2252189)?

My GS6SHEXNL00 has the same symptom. My control board actually has a burn spot where a pathway on the circuit board actually burned off and got disconnected.

Even after jumping that with a wire, no luck. I replaced a relay switch that was going nuts (clicking rapidly when the refrigeration side door is opened), but that didn't result in the light turning on in the refrigerator.

I'm having difficulty troubleshooting the control board without its schematics. [ clip the yellow wire with the red tracer on the control board and connect it to the 2 black wires coming to one pin on the same connector at the control board.... this will supply power to the door switch and the lights will all work again ]
Robert Geissler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2007, 09:18 PM   #40
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Whirlpool refrig. problem


update: Replaced the board about 2 weeks ago. no sweat. easy replacement, and solved the issue.

Got the board on Ebay, about 70 bucks.
aquatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 05:24 PM   #41
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Whirlpool refrig. problem


About two weeks ago the lights in the fridge side of our Whirlpool side by side ceased working (Model Number GD5RHAXNQ00). In addition the control panel digital desplay stopped working and there was chattering from the back of the unit. With the help of this DIY site, I confirmed it was a relay on the PC Board located in a white box at the back of the unit behind a cardboard cover. Part number on the PC is 2252189. I replaced it with an alternate part number WPL 2304095 and all works fine now. Cost $112.69 from pcappliancerepair.com

Easy fix, I hope it lasts.
dtaylor125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 04:44 PM   #42
Sparky
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Whirlpool refrig. problem


Geetings all,
First great site and forum. You all helped me fix my frige (GD5RHAXNT00). However, I did take a slightly different path than most did.
I also found a hot spot on my board. At first I was going to do the jumper thing at the board connector but my model did not have the black wire on the ten pin connector. I decided to keep the board as some did and do some rewiring (the board is 1/3 the cost of the frige).

Thanks to jeff I found the wiring pdf and was able to get a good look at how this thing works. The switched leg (yellow wire) that turns on the lights also sends a signal back to the board seemed important to me so, I did the following..

At the wiring harness near the center of the frig (behind the cardboard in the back) 3 wires come out from the body of the frige and goin the main harness. I cut the yellow/rd wire and taped the end that goes to the control box. I refed the other end (that goes into the connector leading into the frig body) by splicing it into the black wire located in the harness. This black wire is a 120v feed from the power cord.

What my fix did (I think) was reduce the load on the board and bypass the fucntion that turns the light on and off while keeping the function that turns the display on and off. It also resulted in a kiss from my wife.
Musiccha is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Musiccha For This Useful Post:
wrkmpls (05-04-2013)
Old 10-09-2007, 08:17 AM   #43
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Whirlpool refrig. problem


I've had the same trouble as everyone else, with the fridg side door open, no light, no display and clicking noise from the bottom backside of the fridg.

Found burnt spot on the the board and could see were the heat from this burnt spot discolored the white plastic box it sits in. Bought a "new"? board from Dey appliance for $117.00 put it in, now everything seems to work fine.

The board I put in seems to have diffent components on it, less resistors?

I'll re-post if I have trouble in the future.

PS
My Whirlpool is just over 2 years old !!!
Might be why they have a 1 year wananty??
smith2541 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 02:30 PM   #44
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Whirlpool refrig. problem


Hi

No kidding! I just stumbled across this thread by doing a google search. I have the EXACT same problem and when I saw this, I was like "Aha".

THis obviously means there is a design defect in the control boards that have been used by Whirlpool. They should address this problem in future models and in the very least, do free repair for the hundreds of unsuspecting customers who bought their product and now find them in this soup. I am thinking of calling up Whirlpool and making them take care of this, not for the money or the hassle but for the principle.

Thanks
HT
hom_tanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 01:04 PM   #45
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Whirlpool refrig. problem


(Another) Whirlpool Side by Side

Just completed splicing the yellow (w/red trace) wire to the (solid) black wire as described in earlier posts. Worked like a charm and was most cost effective!
Thanks to all that have posted their experiences / successes dealing with an obvious product defect.

Camelgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kohler Whirlpool not turning off tnt2006 Electrical 6 08-29-2014 09:41 PM
Kenmore Refrig. Temp. ? kourso Appliances 1 07-09-2007 11:37 AM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 01:51 PM
Drywall, Mold Problem due to Leaked Water june03 Building & Construction 2 10-31-2006 07:24 AM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.