Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-27-2011, 10:31 AM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 15
Share |
Default

Whirlpool Range Oven Temp Swing


Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwareman View Post
60 degree swing is not acceptable you must have a bad sensor.
I decided to order a new temp sensor and will ohm out both then it comes in.

horrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 03:20 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 15
Default

Whirlpool Range Oven Temp Swing


Received and installed the new sensor. The old one measured about 1100 ohms at room temperature. With the new sensor I am still getting a total difference of 60F. Must be the control board unless +/- 30F is the spec.
horrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 04:56 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 15
Default

Whirlpool Range Oven Temp Swing


Update. I ran the oven longer and further adjusted the calibration to try to center at 350F for the 350F setting. After it cycled a couple of times, I noticed that the differential temperature was tighter than before. Instead of 60F total swing, I got a 47F swing. I had to set the calibration at -25F to obtain the temperature match. I probably will live with this for a while and see how my wife likes it. At any rate, it should be running 25 degrees cooler than before. Less chance to burn the cookies.
horrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 08:09 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 8
Default

Whirlpool Range Oven Temp Swing


Hello Hardwareman,

I have been following this thread and it is very interesting. It appears this fellow is using an electronic oven. I am not sure but mine is a manual type stove/oven combo.

I am experiencing some very erratic temperatures. Cookies are burning as one person stated earlier. Whirlpool RF3020XPN is my model number.

Will your resistance readings in this thread correspond with readings for my temperature sensor?

I would like to give it a whirl as far as checking resistance readings with external thermometer readings to try to correct this problem.

Is there anything else in particular I need to look out for?

Thanks in advance for your professional assistance.

Regards,

Scott Lawrence

Last edited by scottk4sl; 12-03-2011 at 08:10 PM. Reason: Additions
scottk4sl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 08:25 PM   #20
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,538
Default

Whirlpool Range Oven Temp Swing


the ohms readings would be very similar no matter what sensor your oven has. I have found that very erratic temps swings come from a bad board rather than a bad sensor but by all means check the sensor first.
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 11:35 AM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 8
Default

Whirlpool Range Oven Temp Swing


Awesome man thanks a bunch. Will get back with ya within the next couple of days.

scottk4sl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 07:07 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: phila.
Posts: 504
Default

Whirlpool Range Oven Temp Swing


Another thing to keep in mind is; you have to let it preheat for 30min-ish. especially on todays electronic controlled ovens. the oven after preheat cycle [if so equipped] shuts off is *not* at temp indicated on display ie; 350*. this is done on purpose by manf' for bragging rights to accu temp control. seems counter intuitive but they say it's an engineering method for even heat. so any crictal baking like cakes/cookies or checking temps-preheat the 30min.
Jacques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 07:50 AM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 8
Default

Whirlpool Range Oven Temp Swing


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacques View Post
Another thing to keep in mind is; you have to let it preheat for 30min-ish. especially on todays electronic controlled ovens. the oven after preheat cycle [if so equipped] shuts off is *not* at temp indicated on display ie; 350*. this is done on purpose by manf' for bragging rights to accu temp control. seems counter intuitive but they say it's an engineering method for even heat. so any crictal baking like cakes/cookies or checking temps-preheat the 30min.
Hi Jacques,

Thanks for the info. This is an old manual type stove with dials etc. Does it still have to preheat 30 mins?

Scott
scottk4sl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 08:31 AM   #24
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,538
Default

Whirlpool Range Oven Temp Swing


OK, hold the phone. I should have looked at your model#. You will have no sensor, you have a thermostat with a capillary tube. If your temps swing that much you will have to replace the thermostat.
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 11:32 AM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 8
Default

Whirlpool Range Oven Temp Swing


Awesome Hardwareman!!!

Thanks for the information. A thermostat should be easy to replace. Do you by chance have a part number for it? Actually a service manual would be awesome so I can take a look at the circuitry as well.

You folks are awesome.

Many thanks!!!

Scott


scottk4sl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Roper Electric Oven Range Problem mcnutty Appliances 6 07-05-2011 05:32 PM
Whirlpool Oven Element Cultcab Appliances 5 01-04-2011 08:21 PM
Old gas kenmore range....no oven, but burners work shadango Appliances 24 11-17-2010 06:45 AM
Oven Door question for Amana Gas Range ChrisJJ Appliances 1 09-13-2010 06:48 AM
Range outlet pushes oven too far from wall givemeabreak Electrical 8 08-19-2008 12:14 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.