Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-14-2011, 09:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 26
Share |
Default

Whirlpool 29" Dryer has no power


Wife was doing laundry when she put her second load in the dryer nothing happened, no power. I'm guessing or at least hoping its just a thermal fuse. Vent was clean, nothing blocking it which would be my only concern regarding the thermal fuse. Maybe the heater element??? Am I on the right track.

nsb318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 10:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 209
Default

Whirlpool 29" Dryer has no power


check the breaker. I will be a 30 amp for an electric dryer. If it is an older home, check the fus panel and make sure there are no blown fuses.

bluebird5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 11:29 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Whirlpool 29" Dryer has no power


I purchased one of those cheap voltage testers and it looks like from what I can tell no power is coming from the 50 amp plug. Circuit breaker is not tripping either. Could it be completely shot?

PS...My other screen name was disabled.
nsb31875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 12:19 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 209
Default

Whirlpool 29" Dryer has no power


how old is your house? does is have a fuse box?
bluebird5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 12:49 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Whirlpool 29" Dryer has no power


Quote:
Originally Posted by bluebird5 View Post
how old is your house? does is have a fuse box?
House is 32 yrs old. It has Square D circuit breakers. They were updated within the last 10 years or so.


If it were a circuit breaker issue wouldn't the breaker trip? It did not.
nsb31875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 01:10 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 209
Default

Whirlpool 29" Dryer has no power


well is depends. If you have a house with only breakers and no fuse panel, then th breaker should trip. Some houses have fuse panels and breakers. in that case the fuse will blow before the breaker trips.
bluebird5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 01:16 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Whirlpool 29" Dryer has no power


Quote:
Originally Posted by bluebird5 View Post
well is depends. If you have a house with only breakers and no fuse panel, then th breaker should trip. Some houses have fuse panels and breakers. in that case the fuse will blow before the breaker trips.
No fuse panel anywhere. I may shut the main off and take the breaker off anyway to inspect.

The guy at the Hardware store told me the thermal fuse is just for heat and would not affect the overall power of the dryer but the heat only.
nsb31875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 01:59 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Whirlpool 29" Dryer has no power


After witnessing my life flashing before my eyes trying to check the current I found the problem. The problem lies in the door. For some reason the door indicator isn't allowing the dryer to run. It looks like the door is closing all the way but for some reason the door indicator is not letting the dryer run. I have to push the door hard and almost cave it in before it will run. Would you happen to know why it would do this?
nsb31875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 03:02 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 209
Default

Whirlpool 29" Dryer has no power


maybe somone slammed the door and jammed something. might have to do a little jerry rigging. or replace the faulty parts
bluebird5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 03:20 PM   #10
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Whirlpool 29" Dryer has no power


Quote:
Originally Posted by nsb31875 View Post
I purchased one of those cheap voltage testers and it looks like from what I can tell no power is coming from the 50 amp plug. Circuit breaker is not tripping either. Could it be completely shot?

PS...My other screen name was disabled.
nsb318 is still an active account.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 03:25 PM   #11
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,511
Default

Whirlpool 29" Dryer has no power


sounds like you need a new door switch

__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dumb electrical question about potentially overloading a power socket zapp Electrical 2 02-18-2011 09:43 AM
Electric Dryer not turning on c.abrams Electrical 3 01-09-2011 06:18 PM
how to avoid condensation in exterior wall when enclosing washer/dryer pemn Remodeling 6 12-01-2010 02:35 PM
need instructions on replacing a Whirlpool refrigerator power cord please. ChrisC30 Electrical 2 03-10-2008 09:59 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.