Washer Problem - Appliances - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2011, 08:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Washer problem


Does anyone have any suggestions, I've had the repair guys come in and check out my washer which is only 3 years old and first they said it was the belt - so I changed it.... turns out they had to come back to determine that my spinner is not spinning fast enough and not draining all the water out.

I'm hoping someone will have any suggestions to fix it myself - the repair guys are saying it's going to cost $400 for the part alone :-(

Thank you!

Advertisement

TanyaM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 08:58 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Washer problem


Welcome to the forum. I moved this to "Appliances" since you asked in a 3 year old thread of mine.

Did you try belt dressing? Is there an adjusting wheel?

DM

Advertisement

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 09:00 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Washer problem


Thank you DM!

what is belt dressing?
TanyaM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 09:08 PM   #4
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Washer problem


It's a spray that helps older, slightly stretched out belts grip better.
There may be an adjustable pulley wheel in there too.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 09:11 PM   #5
newer than a newbie...
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 134
Rewards Points: 83
Default

Washer problem


I'm not an expert with washers by any means, but I find that these appliances have become disposable items. I don't understand how it would cost $400 for a part, unless your washer is worth $2500+. I would suggest that if there is going to be a cost involved, purchase a new low end heavy capacity washer. In my opinion, the newer washers although they save a tiny bit of money in water costs, operate for longer (using more electricity) and don't clean the clothes as well as the older style, top-loading ones which actually saturate clothes to get stains out.

Sorry this is more of a rant than a solution! But if you can't fix it on your own, it's best to buy a new one in my opinion.
mcvane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 09:26 PM   #6
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Washer problem


You could try a used appliance store for the "$400.00 part" if you have one locally. The one we have sells parts: Removing stubborn Washing machine tub. and also used machines for around $200.00..... My "part" cost $25.00....
Craigslist might be another place to look if you cannot fix this one.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 09:57 PM   #7
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,573
Rewards Points: 1,056
Default

Washer problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by TanyaM View Post
Does anyone have any suggestions, I've had the repair guys come in and check out my washer which is only 3 years old and first they said it was the belt - so I changed it.... turns out they had to come back to determine that my spinner is not spinning fast enough and not draining all the water out.

I'm hoping someone will have any suggestions to fix it myself - the repair guys are saying it's going to cost $400 for the part alone :-(

Thank you!
before we can help, and we can help, we need model# brand and a detailed description of what your problem is. What is this $400.00 part anyway.
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 09:58 PM   #8
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,573
Rewards Points: 1,056
Default

Washer problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
Welcome to the forum. I moved this to "Appliances" since you asked in a 3 year old thread of mine.

Did you try belt dressing? Is there an adjusting wheel?

DM
never use belt dressing on washer belts
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 10:00 PM   #9
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,573
Rewards Points: 1,056
Default

Washer problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by mcvane View Post

Sorry this is more of a rant than a solution! But if you can't fix it on your own, it's best to buy a new one in my opinion.
wow, what a crock.
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 08:14 AM   #10
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Washer problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwareman View Post
never use belt dressing on washer belts
Why not? I used it on my old one and it worked fine.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 08:32 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: phila.
Posts: 504
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Washer problem


There's a lot of reasons not to use belt dressing on appl or wd40....Re: OP Q'--sounds like the servicer doesn't have a clue or knows you're going to DIY, so, since he's not going to get the job, he just wants you to go away..chase you with a high price..servicers don't make money on just the s/c..
Jacques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 08:55 AM   #12
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Washer problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacques View Post
There's a lot of reasons not to use belt dressing
....and they would be.....? It worked fine for me when MY washer belt was shiny/worn and I couldn't seem to get it adjusted otherwise. It's a moot point now though, since the washer we have now has no belt. But since the can SAID it's for older, worn belts and did not say anything about NOT using it on washing machines, I have to wonder.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 09:10 AM   #13
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,573
Rewards Points: 1,056
Default

Washer problem


short answer, because most all washer belts are designed to slip a little bit going into the spin cycle.
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 07:46 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Washer problem


There's a lot of reasons not to use belt dressing on appl or wd40....Re: OP Q'--sounds like the servicer doesn't have a clue or knows you're going to DIY, so, since he's not going to get the job, he just wants you to go away..chase you with a high price..servicers don't make money on just the s/c.
shameem007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 11:19 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Washer problem


My apologies for replying so late - my husband was the one dealing with the service guy - I believe he said it was the agitator/spinner. Apparently it wasn't spinning fast enough.

Thanks for all your responses - they're greatly appreciated!

Advertisement

TanyaM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
countertop on washer dryer Alto Appliances 0 11-22-2010 03:39 AM
GE Washer has more than one problem Lilybelle Appliances 4 10-31-2010 04:06 PM
relocating washer drain idodishez Plumbing 7 04-21-2009 09:36 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 07:26 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 02:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts