Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2011, 03:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Stack washer/dryer: why do both start simultaneously?


I just bought a used Kenmore stacked washer/dryer. It's the kind where the washer and dryer are attached, like this: http://www.kenmore.com/shc/s/p_10154...ryer&adCell=W3

I got it installed, turned the washer settings knob and pulled it out to turn it on but nothing happened. So i turned the dryer start knob and both the dryer and the washer started.

maybe the washer has been wired to the dryer start knob, as part of an attempted repair?

or maybe there is some type of reset switch or something?

i can take the washer/dryer back to the place i bought it from, but if its an easy fix i can do myself i'd rather just do that than lug the heavy thing back across town.

thanks for any help and advice!!

kylan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 05:32 PM   #2
Member
 
bubbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Shore MA
Posts: 481
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Stack washer/dryer: why do both start simultaneously?


Did you install it, or someone else?

I've owned similar unit, the washer should definately run w/o the dryer running. My guess is that either there is a fault in your wiring, the cable from the unit, or internal the unit.

bubbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 07:24 PM   #3
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Stack washer/dryer: why do both start simultaneously?


somethings definitely not right. Did you put the power cord on or was it already on? May want to look at that first to see if it is right.
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 08:42 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Stack washer/dryer: why do both start simultaneously?


It this unit 120 or 240 voltage?
It sounds like the washer power was tied into the motor relay, perhaps on the load and not the line side.
So much for testing your work....

Last edited by Master of Cold; 10-06-2011 at 08:45 PM.
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 08:43 PM   #5
Member
 
bubbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Shore MA
Posts: 481
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Stack washer/dryer: why do both start simultaneously?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Master of Cold View Post
It this unit 120 or 240 voltage?
I think the real question is:

Gas or Electric dryer?
bubbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dryer, stacked, switch, washer, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tying into main stack in basement jhealy Plumbing 1 05-12-2011 11:04 AM
Tie stack to main drain rtoni Plumbing 3 04-21-2011 06:49 AM
soil stack help please treerat Plumbing 3 03-27-2011 08:07 AM
new pergo - where to start laying first course snowninja Flooring 4 09-25-2010 04:47 PM
DWV Stack Question dcgray2 Plumbing 9 07-14-2006 12:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.