Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2014, 02:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Share |
Exclamation

Retrofit electric rangetop to induction


Have a 30" GE range/oven combo. The oven is good, but the top itself has been the issue. BTW - GE was no help at all toward correcting it's own mess. Just wondering if the 4 element top can be modified or swapped out to retrofit an induction top. The electric top measurements are:
flat surface - 29.75"w. x 22.25"d.
Full depth back to the hinge point is 23.5".
This top could never be leveled from the get-go. Adjusting the jacks to get the top perfectly level (front to back & side to side) leaves the four elements not level. Every one of the elements are off - different one to another, i.e., one will tilt to the right, one to the left-back, one to the back & the other to the left front . . . & yes, all pans & all elements are perfectly seated, one to another. Even if all tilted in one direction & were corrected with the leveling jacks, the oven racks would not be level (lop-sided breads, cakes, et al). My point is - why ditch the whole thing if the oven still cranks out excellent baked/broiled 'stuff'? I've seen induction tops out there that look like they may work in this area. Not being cheap, just practical. Any answers?

shark2th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 12:46 PM   #2
K&B Designer
 
Live_Oak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis,. TN
Posts: 350
Default

Retrofit electric rangetop to induction


It's a single unit range? Then no, you cannot place a cooktop over it, even if you were an electronics whiz. It's not designed that way. You have to replace the entire range with a new range. Induction ranges are still pretty pricy, but still cheaper than doing a cooktop over a wall oven as then the cabinetry and counters have to be modified as well as two different appliances purchased. But, you won't regret induction! Just do the magnet test on your pans to see which ones can be used with it. There are several inexpensive sets available if not.

__________________
Do it right from the beginning if you only want to do the job once. It'll be cheaper in the long term.
Live_Oak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Forced Air Furncace Fisher HVAC 0 02-08-2011 07:24 AM
underground electric under pond jason7858 Electrical 35 01-10-2011 03:52 PM
String trimmers - gas, corded electric, or battery electric - which one?? whataboutj Landscaping & Lawn Care 43 05-01-2010 09:25 AM
90 amp electric car charger! The future... Billy_Bob Electrical 16 02-16-2010 02:01 PM
Need help with Electric Furnace and HP goodeetwoshews HVAC 7 12-17-2009 09:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.